PDA

View Full Version : Ripping a copy-protected DVD




JRod993
Jan 18, 2009, 06:17 AM
I am about to rip a DVD for the first time using Handbrake! I want to rip Mission Impossible 3, but on the back it says copy- protected. Will copy-protected DVDs be able to rip?



Tallest Skil
Jan 18, 2009, 06:18 AM
Y....eah. It's HandBrake. :p What other kind of DVDs would you need to rip?

You need VLC to take care of the ripping, anymore, though.

dukebound85
Jan 18, 2009, 06:26 AM
Y....eah. It's HandBrake. :p What other kind of DVDs would you need to rip?

haha true that!

op, if you want a full complete backup (aka not an encoding), you can use mac the ripper and subsequently burn to a dvd(compressed on single layer, or not compressed on dvd dl) with toast or burn

JRod993
Jan 18, 2009, 07:08 AM
Y....eah. It's HandBrake. :p What other kind of DVDs would you need to rip?

You need VLC to take care of the ripping, anymore, though.

And all of this is can be done on Windows too, right?

JRod993
Jan 18, 2009, 07:10 AM
haha true that!

op, if you want a full complete backup (aka not an encoding), you can use mac the ripper and subsequently burn to a dvd(compressed on single layer, or not compressed on dvd dl) with toast or burn

Thanks

Tallest Skil
Jan 18, 2009, 07:10 AM
And all of this is can be done on Windows too, right?

Actually, no. The Windows version of HandBrake didn't rip DVDs even when the Mac version did.

And the Mac version still does, you just need VLC for the codecs. You'll never know the difference.

JRod993
Jan 18, 2009, 07:13 AM
Actually, no. The Windows version of HandBrake didn't rip DVDs even when the Mac version did.

And the Mac version still does, you just need VLC for the codecs. You'll never know the difference.

How long usually does a regular DVD take to rip?

Tallest Skil
Jan 18, 2009, 07:21 AM
How long usually does a regular DVD take to rip?

The rip takes virtually no time at all. The encoding is what takes time.

With a 3.2GHz Gainestown Mac Pro running Snow Leopard, the encode takes about 10 minutes.

With a 2.4GHz Penryn MacBook Pro with 4GB of RAM, it takes a little over 2.5 hours.

With a 1.8GHz G5 iMac, it takes a little over 4.5 hours.

JRod993
Jan 18, 2009, 07:22 AM
The rip takes virtually no time at all. The encoding is what takes time.

With a 3.2GHz Gainestown Mac Pro running Snow Leopard, the encode takes about 10 minutes.

With a 2.4GHz Penryn MacBook Pro with 4GB of RAM, it takes a little over 2.5 hours.

With a 1.8GHz G5 iMac, it takes a little over 4.5 hours.

Thanks

dukebound85
Jan 18, 2009, 07:25 AM
Thanks

keep in mind that while handbrake is very cpu reliant, the length of the encoding also is affected by what settings you are using as well

abrooks
Jan 18, 2009, 08:10 AM
The rip takes virtually no time at all. The encoding is what takes time.

With a 3.2GHz Gainestown Mac Pro running Snow Leopard, the encode takes about 10 minutes.

Since when did Mac Pro's have Gainestown chips in?

Tallest Skil
Jan 18, 2009, 08:18 AM
Since when did Mac Pro's have Gainestown chips in?

That encode speed is an extrapolation based on the computer that I will be getting. In June. :D

I'm glad that someone caught that. I would have been disappointed if someone hadn't. ;)

JRod993
Jan 18, 2009, 08:19 AM
Since when did Mac Pro's have Gainestown chips in?

I don't know

JRod993
Jan 18, 2009, 09:13 AM
So for Windows I need to download VLC along with Handbrake too?

dukebound85
Jan 18, 2009, 09:14 AM
So for Windows I need to download VLC along with Handbrake too?

i would think so with the latest handbrake

Tallest Skil
Jan 18, 2009, 09:17 AM
So for Windows I need to download VLC along with Handbrake too?

i would think so with the latest handbrake

That's correct.

cleo
Jan 18, 2009, 11:46 AM
I'm in the process of ripping DVD's for the first time, too (getting ready for a 9-hour plane ride, ugh).

I'm using two computers: a year-old MacBook Pro (2.4 Ghz Core 2 Duo with 4GB RAM), and a year old iMac (2Ghz Core 2 Duo, 1GB RAM). The MBP has an Elgato 264 Turbo dongle, but I'm honestly not sure if it's being used or not.

I'm using the built-in "iPod" preset. Only change was to adjust the DRC to 2.0.

On the MBP, ripping & encoding is taking about 45% of the time of the DVD it's processing (ie, a 1hr 39m film processed in 44m). On the iMac it's averaging around 60%.

I have to say... I always thought ripping DVD's was a really complicated process (so much so that I've used bittorrent to get copies of movies I own on DVD)... but I feel like such a fool now! :) I'm actually looking forward to the flight now, just to get caught up on all the DVD's I got for Christmas!

Michael CM1
Jan 18, 2009, 12:34 PM
How long usually does a regular DVD take to rip?

As others said, the encode time is the issue. A lot depends on the setting -- mine is at a pretty good near-DVD quality setting. WIth my 2.16Ghz MBP and 2GB of RAM (which is never the bottleneck), it takes just a slight bit longer than the actual video. On my Mac Mini G4, it was about 1.5x the video. WIth the newer processors, you may be getting under the length of the video by a good bit.

A good tip is if you need speed, close EVERYTHING else. I was doing one last night and it was about half the optimum speed because I was playing video in iTunes.

JRod993
Jan 18, 2009, 03:41 PM
As others said, the encode time is the issue. A lot depends on the setting -- mine is at a pretty good near-DVD quality setting. WIth my 2.16Ghz MBP and 2GB of RAM (which is never the bottleneck), it takes just a slight bit longer than the actual video. On my Mac Mini G4, it was about 1.5x the video. WIth the newer processors, you may be getting under the length of the video by a good bit.

A good tip is if you need speed, close EVERYTHING else. I was doing one last night and it was about half the optimum speed because I was playing video in iTunes.


Is anyone having trouble ripping the dark knight? Even though I have a digital copy which they want me to pay for!, can anyone help?

mrougeux
Mar 2, 2009, 09:08 AM
Y....eah. It's HandBrake. :p What other kind of DVDs would you need to rip?

You need VLC to take care of the ripping, anymore, though.

Could someone explain the need and role of VLC when using Handbrake?
Are you saying you need to use both programs when ripping a copy protected DVD? I thought VLC was simply a media "player." Thanks for any assistance in better understanding this process.

GGJstudios
Mar 2, 2009, 09:19 AM
With a 3.2GHz Gainestown Mac Pro running Snow Leopard, the encode takes about 10 minutes.
Very interesting revelation, considering neither Snow Leopard nor Gainestown has been released yet!

fireshot91
Mar 2, 2009, 09:41 AM
For Windows, I use DVD Shrink, and make it as a ISO, and then use Clone CD to burn it to a blank DVD.

GGJstudios
Mar 2, 2009, 09:53 AM
With a 2.4GHz Penryn MacBook Pro with 4GB of RAM, it takes a little over 2.5 hours.
Another interesting revelation, since I just ripped M:i:III on a 2.5GHz Penryn MacBook Pro with 4GB of RAM.... in exactly 35 minutes.

NightStorm
Mar 2, 2009, 10:05 AM
Another interesting revelation, since I just ripped M:i:III on a 2.5GHz Penryn MacBook Pro with 4GB of RAM.... in exactly 35 minutes.

I bet you used ffmpeg, and not x264 for the encoder.

hexonxonx
Mar 2, 2009, 10:45 AM
I've been using CloneDVD to exact copy all my DVDs to my computers. I then use Video Lan to play them. Works very well and can even copy only the movie portion to your computer without the extras.

dlegend
Mar 2, 2009, 08:12 PM
anyone have any trouble with using Toast 9 to make copies? I tried it last night and it kept crashing on me.