PDA

View Full Version : MacBook & Safari 4




shady825
Feb 24, 2009, 10:22 AM
So I've always used FireFox since the beginning of time pretty much but just this morning I decided to try out Safari 4.
I actually REALLY like it! I think I like it enough to switch from FireFox!
The "Top Sites" feature is pretty cool and everything seems to load super fast!

Just curious if anyone else gonna make the switch from FireFox?

One question I have about Safari is, where is the 'home' button??



NewMacbookPlz
Feb 24, 2009, 10:31 AM
My trying it depends on just how much SNAPPIER it is than Safari 3....

:D:D:p

shady825
Feb 24, 2009, 10:32 AM
My trying it depends on just how much SNAPPIER it is than Safari 3....

:D:D:p

I just noticed YouTube loads WAY faster too!

Abstract
Feb 24, 2009, 10:45 AM
Safari was always a bit faster, but there were just a few things that weren't as good as FF. Firstly, Safari crashes more often on my machine. Secondly, if I go to the bookmarks drop-down menu and press "Apple + T" (or the scroll-wheel click button on a mouse), the webpage doesn't open in a new tab. It's really useful, and works in Firefox on Macs and Windows, and IE7 on Windows. The solution is to create a new tab first, then selecting the bookmark you want in the menu. However, it's an extra step, and I do a lot of web surfing.


As good as Safari may be in terms of speed, the UI is lacking just the 1 thing that is actually

shady825
Feb 24, 2009, 10:47 AM
Safari was always a bit faster, but there were just a few things that weren't as good as FF. Firstly, Safari crashes more often on my machine. Secondly, if I go to the bookmarks drop-down menu and press "Apple + T" (or the scroll-wheel click button on a mouse), the webpage doesn't open in a new tab. It's really useful, and works in Firefox on Macs and Windows, and IE7 on Windows. The solution is to create a new tab first, then selecting the bookmark you want in the menu. However, it's an extra step, and I do a lot of web surfing.


As good as Safari may be in terms of speed, the UI is lacking just the 1 thing that is actually

I just tried "Apple + T" and it opens the "Top Sites" feature.. ?
Also, is there a Home button on Safari? I cant find it haha! FireFox had the little house icon

shady825
Feb 24, 2009, 10:53 AM
Secondly, if I go to the bookmarks drop-down menu and press "Apple + T" (or the scroll-wheel click button on a mouse), the webpage doesn't open in a new tab.

Is this what you were talking about??

only1agam
Feb 24, 2009, 10:54 AM
So I've always used FireFox since the beginning of time pretty much but just this morning I decided to try out Safari 4.
I actually REALLY like it! I think I like it enough to switch from FireFox!
The "Top Sites" feature is pretty cool and everything seems to load super fast!

Just curious if anyone else gonna make the switch from FireFox?

One question I have about Safari is, where is the 'home' button??

i think the only thing holding me back from safari 4 is always the security issues and updates required.. that's why i seem to like camino better.. with that said hopefully the camino/mozilla folks are paying attention to this :D

shady825
Feb 24, 2009, 10:58 AM
i think the only thing holding me back from safari 4 is always the security issues and updates required.. that's why i seem to like camino better.. with that said hopefully the camino/mozilla folks are paying attention to this :D

What security issues are you talking about? That RSS thing a little while back?

VSMacOne
Feb 24, 2009, 11:02 AM
I tried this but it crashes every time i start it up. Anybody have any ideas?!

plinden
Feb 24, 2009, 11:05 AM
I just tried "Apple + T" and it opens the "Top Sites" feature.. ?
Also, is there a Home button on Safari? I cant find it haha! FireFox had the little house icon

New tabs open on the Top Sites (same as clicking the 4x3 grid). When you click command-T you'll see a new tab at the top (I don't think I like where the tabs are - I prefer the traditional location, but that's mostly because I'm used to it, but also it's further to move the mouse. I'll have to start using command-shift-arrows). I expect the page is configurable but I haven't looked yet. (Edit: yes, Preferences -> General -> New Tabs open with)

Safari doesn't display the Home button by default - command-shift-H does this with the keyboard, but you can also customize your Toolbar (Menu -> View -> Customize Toolbar).

tdgrn
Feb 24, 2009, 11:05 AM
The way to load your homepage is Shift+CMD+H

NewMacbookPlz
Feb 24, 2009, 11:05 AM
I tried this but it crashes every time i start it up. Anybody have any ideas?!

Do you have any Safari3 plug-in's installed/setup? Those may be causing issues.

VSMacOne
Feb 24, 2009, 11:09 AM
Do you have any Safari3 plug-in's installed/setup? Those may be causing issues.

Glims and SafariBlock.... hmm... maybe i'll try taking Glims off for right now just so I can take Safari 4 for a test drive.

plinden
Feb 24, 2009, 11:11 AM
The way to load your homepage is Shift+CMD+H

Or customize your Toolbar for those used to all other browsers.

Edit: oh ... no reload button in the toolbar or customize toolbar. command-R reloads, I know, but muscle memory brings my mouse to the top of the window. Edit 2: I'm dumb, reload is in the location field.

rdowns
Feb 24, 2009, 11:11 AM
The way to load your homepage is Shift+CMD+H


Or simply add a Home button to the toolbar.

VSMacOne
Feb 24, 2009, 11:42 AM
Very happy to say that i'm posting this from Safari 4 :)

For anybody else who's having trouble with Safari 4 crashing at launch, you need to remove Glims from your system and then re-install Safari 4.
That should fix the problem.

Abstract
Feb 24, 2009, 11:58 AM
Is this what you were talking about??

Yes, that's it, but it doesn't apply to what I'm talking about. Those only apply when your mouse cursor is hovering over a link. You can open up a link in a new tab quite easily. However, when you're going through your list of bookmarks and try to go to a website, the site opens in the current tab. It doesn't just create a new tab and go to the new site. Is that clearer?


In Mozilla and other browsers, I can do this. Again, it's not a HUGE deal, particularly for those who never even considered this, but for me, it's a UI issue. Well, Safari crashing often didn't help either.

VSMacOne
Feb 24, 2009, 12:00 PM
So this is indeed REALLY fast.. I hope not all of it is due to clearing the cache, etc.
I like the extra space due to having the tabs at the top, but i keep forgetting I have tabs open lol :D

VSMacOne
Feb 24, 2009, 12:23 PM
Yes, that's it, but it doesn't apply to what I'm talking about. Those only apply when your mouse cursor is hovering over a link. You can open up a link in a new tab quite easily. However, when you're going through your list of bookmarks and try to go to a website, the site opens in the current tab. It doesn't just create a new tab and go to the new site. Is that clearer?


In Mozilla and other browsers, I can do this. Again, it's not a HUGE deal, particularly for those who never even considered this, but for me, it's a UI issue. Well, Safari crashing often didn't help either.


That's not true. If i click down on a list of bookmarks and hold Command and click my mouse on the link, it'll open in a new tab just like any other browser.

plinden
Feb 24, 2009, 12:32 PM
Yes, that's it, but it doesn't apply to what I'm talking about. Those only apply when your mouse cursor is hovering over a link. You can open up a link in a new tab quite easily. However, when you're going through your list of bookmarks and try to go to a website, the site opens in the current tab. It doesn't just create a new tab and go to the new site. Is that clearer?

How about trying it from another angle? You can configure new tab to open with your bookmarks.

Abstract
Feb 24, 2009, 12:49 PM
That's not true. If i click down on a list of bookmarks and hold Command and click my mouse on the link, it'll open in a new tab just like any other browser.

Does it work if you click on the scroll-wheel button? That was always the main problem. Again, a UI thing. I shouldn't need a keyboard to browse when I'm surfing through my huge collection of porn bookmarks.

All I remember about Safari was that there was 1 or 2 things you couldn't do on it that was possible on Mozilla. If they finally changed it, then great. If not, I'll keep waiting. I'll probably try Safari 4 anyway.

shady825
Feb 24, 2009, 12:56 PM
Yes, that's it, but it doesn't apply to what I'm talking about. Those only apply when your mouse cursor is hovering over a link. You can open up a link in a new tab quite easily. However, when you're going through your list of bookmarks and try to go to a website, the site opens in the current tab. It doesn't just create a new tab and go to the new site. Is that clearer?


In Mozilla and other browsers, I can do this. Again, it's not a HUGE deal, particularly for those who never even considered this, but for me, it's a UI issue. Well, Safari crashing often didn't help either.


Sorry for the misunderstanding. I see what your saying.

VSMacOne
Feb 24, 2009, 01:52 PM
Does it work if you click on the scroll-wheel button? That was always the main problem. Again, a UI thing. I shouldn't need a keyboard to browse when I'm surfing through my huge collection of porn bookmarks.

All I remember about Safari was that there was 1 or 2 things you couldn't do on it that was possible on Mozilla. If they finally changed it, then great. If not, I'll keep waiting. I'll probably try Safari 4 anyway.

I have a mighty mouse so my scroll/wheel button does something else.

iaymnu
Feb 24, 2009, 02:16 PM
Using webkit latest build against safari 4 and the "snappier" feel just isn't there? Although safari 4 does have neat features I'm going to stick with webkit

aznguyen316
Feb 24, 2009, 02:28 PM
I'm liking it thus far =)

paolo-
Feb 24, 2009, 02:48 PM
Is it now possible to just type things in the address bar and have google link you to the "I feel lucky" suggestion or get you to the google page with what you typed in as the search like in firefox ?

That's a deal breaker for me, why type www.somethingorother then was it .com .ca .au .de .xom .wtf ?

I tried safari a few times but that really kills it for me, I'm so used to it! I'd like to have the choice of web-browser :P

JamesGorman
Feb 24, 2009, 04:42 PM
safari 4 is super fast. i love it:cool:

polska9
Feb 24, 2009, 04:51 PM
how do you modify the top sites in your list? mainly how do i add the "current" site to this list. i cant seem to figure it out apart from deleting the listed sites and hoping that my "current" site just shows up

shady825
Feb 24, 2009, 05:05 PM
how do you modify the top sites in your list? mainly how do i add the "current" site to this list. i cant seem to figure it out apart from deleting the listed sites and hoping that my "current" site just shows up

I would imagine "top sites" is the top sites you visit.
Im not sure if you can add something to it. My understanding is that it just displays your most visited sites.

tubbymac
Feb 24, 2009, 05:30 PM
I think I'll switch back to Safari now from Firefox on OSX. Safari 3 was dog slow compared to Firefox but Safari 4 seems pretty snappy. I like how they copied a lot of stuff from Google Chrome as Chrome is still my favorite browser. Once you've used Chrome's perfect address bar for a while everything else pales in comparison.

I still prefer Google Chrome in bootcamp Windows 7 over Safari 4. It's faster, looks better, and is more minimalist than Safari. When they finally release it on OSX I'm going Chrome for a good and ditching Safari like a bad habit.

VSMacOne
Feb 24, 2009, 05:59 PM
how do you modify the top sites in your list? mainly how do i add the "current" site to this list. i cant seem to figure it out apart from deleting the listed sites and hoping that my "current" site just shows up

open up a tab with Top Sites and then in a new window open the page you want. Pull up the window with Top Sites open and lick Edit. Then drag that the website image (to the left in the address bar) into the Top Sites and drop it there. Then click the Pin and it will lock it on. The Close or Pin sign will not appear at first but once you restart Top Sites it should be there.. Give it a shot.

I just tried it and it works great!

VPrime
Feb 24, 2009, 06:26 PM
Not liking it... the top sites thing I like, but I also liked it in Chrome ;)
Though really I am not liking mainly because I have my firefox set up my way (tab bar always on, and at the bottom).. If there was a way to do this in safari I may consider using it ;)

Also, is there any way to set downloads to ask where to save instead of always saving in downloads (or which ever folder I set in preferences)

evelocity17
Feb 24, 2009, 06:27 PM
I have been a Firefox user for the last 4 years, but after trying Safari 4, I am probably going to move on from firefox

valiechemicalie
Feb 24, 2009, 06:34 PM
msn and hotmail are not working properly after safari 4 install

ahm
Feb 24, 2009, 07:08 PM
I like it a lot. I like Google Chrome a lot for the way the tabs look. I'm looking forward to the final release of Safari 4.

Although, I did have some issues when it was installed. It locked up while closing, so did Garageband. I don't know if it's directly related though. I thought it was the RAM I installed... but I didn't have any problems until I installed Safari 4 Beta. I just went back to Safari 3 and tried to recreate some instances where apps locked up and it hasn't happened.

Has anyone had any issues? I understand it's a beta. I'm not complaining (I did read a post somewhere where someone complained about it not being tested enough... of course it hasn't, it's a beta!)

pellets007
Feb 24, 2009, 07:10 PM
The font sizes jump to far when changing the font size from the icons. The four way scroll doesn't always work when clicking on the scroll wheel on your mouse. Other than that, it's making me change from FireFox/Chrome because it has a much better spelling options. At least, in comparison to Chrome.

Can you change the lines per scroll via Safari? My finger hurts.:(

tubbymac
Feb 24, 2009, 09:43 PM
msn and hotmail are not working properly after safari 4 install

I'd almost consider that a feature and not a bug.

polska9
Feb 25, 2009, 01:33 PM
open up a tab with Top Sites and then in a new window open the page you want. Pull up the window with Top Sites open and lick Edit. Then drag that the website image (to the left in the address bar) into the Top Sites and drop it there. Then click the Pin and it will lock it on. The Close or Pin sign will not appear at first but once you restart Top Sites it should be there.. Give it a shot.

I just tried it and it works great!

thank you very much!!!

aaquib
Feb 25, 2009, 02:25 PM
I love it, I just wish that it remembered all password fields like Firefox does.

harry454
Feb 25, 2009, 04:15 PM
I just tried using the new safari I cant wrap myself around it the keyboard shortcuts are different and what not, maybe Ill have another go.

VladM
Feb 25, 2009, 04:33 PM
Too many bugs as a consequence of the new webkit version. Most notably, the messenger:mac and the growl plugin for mail.app.

I'll wait for the release.