PDA

View Full Version : Mac Portable M5126 backlit


WardC
Feb 26, 2009, 05:17 PM
This is one I took on January 24th...this is one of my gems of my Mac collection, a fully working backlit Mac Portable M5126.

http://www.wardcurry.com/portable.jpg

dmr727
Feb 26, 2009, 05:22 PM
Very cool! Looks to be in great shape too. Of course IMO, you should be running System 6 on that bad boy. ;)

WardC
Feb 26, 2009, 06:09 PM
Very cool! Looks to be in great shape too. Of course IMO, you should be running System 6 on that bad boy. ;)

But, then I couldn't do all the cool stuff with the Map control panel and the scrapbook. System 6 is pretty boring, although it is historic. 7.0.1 runs well on this Portable, I have 4MB of RAM in it.

Tracer
Feb 26, 2009, 06:54 PM
Cool computer.

Cooler cat!

Tracer

Schtumple
Feb 26, 2009, 06:58 PM
Oh my, how far we've come!

dmr727
Mar 1, 2009, 10:57 PM
But, then I couldn't do all the cool stuff with the Map control panel and the scrapbook. System 6 is pretty boring, although it is historic. 7.0.1 runs well on this Portable, I have 4MB of RAM in it.

Oh I know. I'm just a luddite, and refuse to run 7.x on anything capable of running 6 or earlier. ;)

WardC
Mar 1, 2009, 11:09 PM
Oh I know. I'm just a luddite, and refuse to run 7.x on anything capable of running 6 or earlier. ;)

I don't think it's stupid, I see where you are coming from...keep the machine true to its vintage default and don't overlog it with bulky later-released OS software that will lag the processor and sacrifice performance, stability, and compatibility. It's kinda like how I hate using OS X on my Pismo PowerBook, and would rather use all my apps in OS 9. Both will run fine, but I think those Macs are really built and equipped for Classic, and the Aluminum-book series and later are built for OS X.

System 6 is fast, speedy, and runs on very little RAM. It's also quite stable. I think the System 7 Finder makes it easier to get around, open, save, move, rename, and such....but you are hogging more RAM and sacrificing a bit of speed when you use an old 68000. But yes, I totally understand why you'd want to run the default and keep it there.