PDA

View Full Version : IDLE problem




ekenne
Mar 9, 2009, 10:40 AM
Hi,
I've got a problem with Python and the IDLE app.
Everything worked fine until I changed a keyboard shortcut (I think I added a new shortcut for "run-module" with command F5). The next time I tried to run IDLE it wouldn't start at all. It just jumps like it's going to open and then disappears.
I deleted IDLE and downloaded it again, but I still the same problem.
I really need help with this, anyone have any clue what I should do? :confused:

/Erika



MacRumors Guy
Mar 9, 2009, 02:33 PM
Open the Console, and then IDLE. Check if the log has any error message.

wrldwzrd89
Mar 9, 2009, 02:35 PM
Hi,
I've got a problem with Python and the IDLE app.
Everything worked fine until I changed a keyboard shortcut (I think I added a new shortcut for "run-module" with command F5). The next time I tried to run IDLE it wouldn't start at all. It just jumps like it's going to open and then disappears.
I deleted IDLE and downloaded it again, but I still the same problem.
I really need help with this, anyone have any clue what I should do? :confused:

/Erika
Erika-

The problem is almost certainly IDLE's preference file is corrupt. A redownload won't fix this, but moving/deleting the offending file will. All your preferences are in your home folder -> Library -> Preferences. Look in there for a file with IDLE or idle in its name.

ekenne
Mar 9, 2009, 04:28 PM
Thank you for the help,
I found the idle.plist file and deleted it, but it's still the same problem. What to do?

MacRumors Guy
Mar 21, 2009, 12:20 PM
cd ~
ls -al
/* check if you have a .idlerc folder*/
/* remove the folder */