PDA

View Full Version : Wanted install Leopard on Power Mac G4 533




tonyyong
Mar 28, 2009, 11:11 AM
hi, everybody. I have the Power Mac G4 533Mhz( 768 Ram / DVD-RW/ HDD40G/Display 32Mb).
i want to install Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard.
Have how to install Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard.

Thank you advance.



MaTUC
Mar 28, 2009, 11:14 AM
It probably won't run.. and as you have a .dmg of Leopard you may have downloaded it so its piracy and in consequence you're in the wrong place

The Mad Hatter
Mar 28, 2009, 03:29 PM
hi, everybody. I have the Power Mac G4 533Mhz( 768 Ram / DVD-RW/ HDD40G/Display 32Mb).
i want to install Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard.
Have how to install Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard.

Thank you advance.

I would suggest NOT even going through the effort.

I had 10.5 running on my Dual-800 G4 Power Mac, and it ran dog slow. I switched back to Tiger, and it's doing MUCH better.

sngx1275
Mar 28, 2009, 06:20 PM
I would suggest doing it just because its fun to make it work.

I'm running Leopard on a 533Mhz PowerMac G4 DA with 768MB of RAM. Its pretty slow, but if you are just doing 1 thing at a time its usable. I actually basically run it headless and control it from my Powerbook G4 with screen sharing. I run Transmission on it, and have iTunes open sharing out a pretty healthy music library. I also connect to it through Plex on my Mini and stream HD movies from it.

You can't install it with the retail Leopard dvd though, you need to spin yourself a custom DVD. I can't remember exactly what is done, but there are tutorials out there. Basically you make an image of your Leopard dvd, then you modify a couple lines inside of one file where you are 'artificially' limited to 867Mhz and something else.

So I say go for it, but don't expect it to run like Panther or Tiger.

California
Mar 28, 2009, 07:14 PM
Ah, go ahead. I'd pop out the hd or target disc it to install leopard, not sure if that actually works but everyone has stated that you can get around the 867mhz bump...

Stuff it with ram. Get faster hds. Disable dashboard. Get a Leopard capable video card. Have fun.

2thousand9
Mar 28, 2009, 07:33 PM
It probably won't run.. and as you have a .dmg of Leopard you may have downloaded it so its piracy and in consequence you're in the wrong place

You can extract the DMG from the install disk.

tonyyong
Mar 29, 2009, 08:02 AM
Thank you everyone.

velocityg4
Mar 29, 2009, 08:29 AM
You don't need to make .dmg's and tweak the installer. There is a simple open firmware trick that works great. It simply makes the installer think you have an 867mhz G4. I used it for a 466mhz DA without a problem.


To install Leopard on an "unsupported" G4 clocked under 867 MHz:
1. Reboot your Mac and hold down the Cmd-Opt-O-F keys until you get a white screen with black text. This is the Open Firmware prompt.
2. Insert the Mac OS X Leopard Install DVD.
3. Type the following lines exactly as shown below into the Open Firmware prompt. Be mindful of capitalization, spaces, zeros, etc. If the command is properly typed and understood, Open Firmware will display "ok" at the end of each line after you hit "return". What these lines do is set the CPU speed reported by Open Firmware to OS X as an 867 MHz G4 processor system. They then continue the boot from the DVD drive.
For single CPUs, use the following three lines:
dev /cpus/PowerPC,G4@0
d# 867000000 encode-int " clock-frequency" property
boot cd:,\\:tbxi
For dual CPUs, use the following five lines:
dev /cpus/PowerPC,G4@0
d# 867000000 encode-int " clock-frequency" property
dev /cpus/PowerPC,G4@1
d# 867000000 encode-int " clock-frequency" property
boot cd:,\\:tbxi
4. Continue the install normally.
5. This CPU setting is only in effect until the Mac reboots. Once OS X Leopard is installed and your Mac has rebooted, the proper CPU speed should once again be displayed when you select About This Mac under the Apple menu. http://lowendmac.com/bullet.gif


http://lowendmac.com/osx/leopard/openfirmware.html

tonyyong
Mar 30, 2009, 10:37 AM
thank you very much sir.

Earl Urly
Mar 30, 2009, 12:15 PM
Or you could just go here:

http://www.mac.profusehost.net/leopardassist/

Download LeopardAssist, it'll enter all those commands for you automagically and let you reboot the machine into those settings so you can install Leopard