PDA

View Full Version : 5th gen iPod 30gb need to change battery Can you change the harddrive to solid state?




yossim
Mar 30, 2009, 06:27 PM
Hi, I think that I need to change the battery in my iPod. And I was thinking that I could just change the harddrive to a solid state drive while I'm at it. Is this possible?



Dino451
Mar 30, 2009, 07:51 PM
Was also interested and found this website.

http://www.tarkan.info/20080115/tutorials/iflash-ipod-compact-flash-mk2

yossim
Mar 30, 2009, 08:03 PM
-

Michael CM1
Apr 1, 2009, 08:19 PM
Unless there is a mystical 1.8" HDD that I don't know about, no. I also don't understand why you would want to. Go drop some money on a new 16GB iPod touch.

miles01110
Apr 2, 2009, 02:34 AM
Unless there is a mystical 1.8" HDD that I don't know about, no.

Like these? (http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=2013240636+1421330853&Configurator=&Subcategory=636&description=&Ntk=&SpeTabStoreType=&srchInDesc=)

You would need a ZIF-to-SATA adapter to connect it to the iPod. Not sure if these a) exist and b) would fit into the casing.

edit: Ok, for some reason I didn't see the link above. Try that.

yossim
Apr 2, 2009, 07:51 AM
Unless there is a mystical 1.8" HDD that I don't know about, no. I also don't understand why you would want to. Go drop some money on a new 16GB iPod touch.

Except, how much money is an iTouch? $300. How much is a stick of 32gb flash memory? $90.00. so it would be cheaper to replace the memory in my iPod.


So has anyone tried that adapter that was on the link?

rjphoto
Apr 2, 2009, 11:22 AM
cool idea. I also like the battery last longer too.

hmm. anyone try to upgrade a 4gb fat nano yet?

Consultant
Apr 2, 2009, 11:36 AM
Was also interested and found this website.

http://www.tarkan.info/20080115/tutorials/iflash-ipod-compact-flash-mk2

Seems interesting. Anyone want to give it a try?

cool idea. I also like the battery last longer too.

hmm. anyone try to upgrade a 4gb fat nano yet?

CF cards are pretty big. most likely won't fit. In addition, if I remember correctly, the Nano storage are onboard and can't be changed.