5th gen iPod 30gb need to change battery Can you change the harddrive to solid state?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by yossim, Mar 30, 2009.

  1. yossim
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    yossim

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #1
    Hi, I think that I need to change the battery in my iPod. And I was thinking that I could just change the harddrive to a solid state drive while I'm at it. Is this possible?
     
  2. Dino451
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
  3. yossim
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    yossim

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
  4. Michael CM1
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #4
    Unless there is a mystical 1.8" HDD that I don't know about, no. I also don't understand why you would want to. Go drop some money on a new 16GB iPod touch.
     
  5. miles01110
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    Like these?

    You would need a ZIF-to-SATA adapter to connect it to the iPod. Not sure if these a) exist and b) would fit into the casing.

    edit: Ok, for some reason I didn't see the link above. Try that.
     
  6. yossim
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    yossim

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #6
    Except, how much money is an iTouch? $300. How much is a stick of 32gb flash memory? $90.00. so it would be cheaper to replace the memory in my iPod.


    So has anyone tried that adapter that was on the link?
     
  7. rjphoto
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    rjphoto

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #7
    cool idea. I also like the battery last longer too.

    hmm. anyone try to upgrade a 4gb fat nano yet?
     
  8. Consultant
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #8
    Seems interesting. Anyone want to give it a try?

    CF cards are pretty big. most likely won't fit. In addition, if I remember correctly, the Nano storage are onboard and can't be changed.
     

Share This Page