PDA

View Full Version : Leopard on a g4




iSaygoodbye
Apr 6, 2009, 02:20 AM
So i have a powermac g4 with a 533 mhz powerpc g4 processor,and 768 mb of ram. Ive seen some youtube videos and have been told by a couple people leopard would run decent on this machine. The only thing is the processor is just below apples requirements. How do i change what the computer thinks the processors speed is? i think its something called open firmware



Dave H
Apr 6, 2009, 02:27 AM
http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/33657

MacVidCards
Apr 6, 2009, 02:28 AM
or

http://lowendmac.com/osx/leopard/openfirmware.html

SmurfBoxMasta
Apr 6, 2009, 05:34 AM
all together now........everyone say it.......

m o l l a s s e s.........as in "slow as" :eek:

yea, it will run on that machine, but will be ^^^

grue
Apr 6, 2009, 05:37 AM
Leopard sucks harder than a sorority girl on a Friday night when installed on the minimum requirement machine. Why subject yourself to running it on something even worse?

sngx1275
Apr 7, 2009, 12:40 AM
Ha, why do it? Because you can. Thats why I did it. I'm running Leopard on a single 533 G4 DA with 768. Its my torrent box, I've got a 1.5TB FW400 drive hooked up to it, and sharing out 2 partitions on that drive to my local network. Got my new Mini running Plex with Plex pointed to the 2 partitions on the 1.5TB and I stream HD content over wireless. Works great. (well, great somemes doesn't happen on 1080p because my network sucks).