PDA

View Full Version : Mac Mini only goes to 1920x1080 after update 10.5.7




Bravecat
May 13, 2009, 03:27 AM
Anyone else experiencing the same issue? after updating to 10.5.7 i got a grey band across the bottom of my screen after restart. I logged in and went to system preferences, but the highest resolution i can now choose is 1920x1080.

My screen is a HP w2448hc, its capable of 1920x1280, worked at this res before update.

Anyone suggest a fix? or did they restrict the mac mini in the update?

Many thanks in advance.



300D
May 13, 2009, 03:46 AM
Try connecting a different screen then reinstalling yours or holding Command+Option+P+R after rebooting until you hear a second chime.

opeter
May 13, 2009, 07:26 AM
Are you shure about the 1920x1280 resolution?

Most 24" LCDs have 1920x1200 resolution.

Bravecat
May 13, 2009, 07:50 AM
Thanks for the replies... In response to lst post. the resolution is 1920x1200 (my bad)...

jmpage2
May 13, 2009, 11:50 PM
Try resetting the PRAM as recommended with the CTRL + OPTION + P + R at boot time.

googdot
May 14, 2009, 03:45 AM
Heaps of people with the same problem over on Apple discussions.

Seems to have something to do with the HDMI connection, so maybe try straight DVI?

bed
May 14, 2009, 04:48 AM
See http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2004318&tstart=0

I've got a similar problem (1360 x 768 not available with DVI-HDMI cable). I switched back to a DVI-VGA adapter for now which works, but doesn't look as sharp of course.

mooblie
May 14, 2009, 05:27 AM
Mini 1.83GHz Core 2 Duo with GMA950, all OK for me with 10.5.7 and 1920x1200 - using VGA output (on DVI socket with adapter) feeding a Dell 2407.

(Before you ask: I'm not using DVI between the Mini and Dell 2407, as that input is fed from a Matrox MXO on my MacPro as a HD video editing monitor.)

Seems to be a problem for those using DVI/HDMI out of the Mini?

Glenny2lappies
May 15, 2009, 12:24 AM
Seems to be a problem for those using DVI/HDMI out of the Mini?

No. Seems to be a problem with *all* Macs running with a non-Apple external monitor. Says he who's running a MBP with a Hyundai W240 DVI monitor where the only resolutions available go up to 1080 height, not 1200.

Fail Apple. It doesn't "just work". I wish I hadn't installed the 10.5.7 update now (was running fine with 10.5.6).

mooblie
May 15, 2009, 03:11 AM
No. Seems to be a problem with *all* Macs running with a non-Apple external monitor.

No. I haven't got a problem with either my MacPro or my MacMini - both running 10.5.7 on non-Apple external monitors at 1920x1200.

WorldTravel26
May 15, 2009, 02:05 PM
Anyone else experiencing the same issue? after updating to 10.5.7 i got a grey band across the bottom of my screen after restart. I logged in and went to system preferences, but the highest resolution i can now choose is 1920x1080.

My screen is a HP w2448hc, its capable of 1920x1280, worked at this res before update.

Anyone suggest a fix? or did they restrict the mac mini in the update?

Many thanks in advance.

I have the exact same monitor as you, and I had the exact same problem after updating to 10.5.7

I just switched from my HDMI cable to a straight DVI cable, and it solved the problem. Sucks though if you have to go out and buy an extra cable (and possibly adapter) for something that wasn't "broken" until the "update".

germanix
May 15, 2009, 02:42 PM
found this on MacFixit:
Display Resolutions are Incorrect

Another prominent issue (after installing the 10.5.7 update) seems to be certain display resolutions are disappearing, resulting in the computer outputting non-native display resolutions to the monitor. In most cases, instead of being able to choose 1920x1200 as the resolution (the native resolution for many widescreen displays), the computer will only output 1920x1080 (the maximum for HDMI connections). This seems to be a conflict in the drivers, since 1920x1080 is the maximum display resolution for HDMI connections.

There may be several approaches to fixing this problem. The first would be to try a PRAM reset, which can be done by holding the options-command-P-R keys all at once at reboot, and holding them down until the computer resets a few times, then releasing them and allowing the computer to boot normally.

If a PRAM reset doesn't work, try a workaround suggested by Apple Discussion board user "cizko", which is to install a screen output tweaking program called "SwitchResX" for fine-customization of monitor outputs. The program is a demo, but installing it, setting the screen resolution, and then optionally uninstalling it seems to clear the resolution problem the OS X update.

A word of note: some people have found that in using SwitchResX, the only way they were able to get things to work was by going to the "Timing Parameters" settings and checking "Use Simplified settings", and then changing the drop-down menu from "GTF" to "CTV-RB".

panzer06
May 15, 2009, 03:09 PM
10.5.7 installed on my mini and working fine with external Samsung 1920x1200 display.

I've quite a few of these complaints on the Apple support forums so I don't doubt there's an issue but thankfully it does not apply to me.

Cheers,

Matek
May 18, 2009, 01:29 PM
Same problem here, except on a MacBook. Surprised this bug wasn't found during testing...

Maoltuile
May 19, 2009, 10:11 AM
Anyone else experiencing the same issue? after updating to 10.5.7 i got a grey band across the bottom of my screen after restart. I logged in and went to system preferences, but the highest resolution i can now choose is 1920x1080.

My screen is a HP w2448hc, its capable of 1920x1280, worked at this res before update.

Anyone suggest a fix? or did they restrict the mac mini in the update?

Many thanks in advance.

I'm having it as well. Mac Pro (2006) with Nvidia 7300 hooked up to an LG 24" via DVI-to-HDMI cable (the screen only accepts VGA otherwise). The native resolution of the screen is 1920x1200, but all I can select now is 1920x1080 or 1600x1200.

Very, very irritating.

Matek
May 19, 2009, 01:23 PM
The solution germanix posted works. Install SwitchResX, follow the above instructions ("Use Simplified settings" change the drop-down menu from "GTF" to "CTV-RB"), reboot and the resolution should show up again (you can uninstall the utility afterwards).