PDA

View Full Version : need HELP with G5 RAM choice; PC2-6400? OR stick with PC2-4200E-444?




MacChaaz
May 25, 2009, 07:22 AM
Hi guys.

My power mac G5 is an old late 2005 quad core model. ECC; briefly this is me

Standard Configuration
for Apple Power Macintosh G5
Late 2005 QuadCore 2.5GHz DDR2 ECC (M9592LL/A)

and i have NEVER bought any ram before coz i hardly used the machine in those days, so what i have so far are 2 of these:

1 GB DDR2 SDRAM EEC PC2-4200E-444.

So i am going to buy 16GBs of new ram in 4GB pieces; so can i purchase this typ of ram?

4GB kit (2GBx2), 240-pin DIMM, DDR2 PC2-6400 memory module
CT785039

* Module Size: 4GB kit (2GBx2)
* Package: 240-pin DIMM
* Feature: DDR2 PC2-6400
* Specs: DDR2 PC2-6400 CL=6 Unbuffered ECC DDR2-800 1.8V 256Meg x 72

at http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=205ECD41A5CA7304


OR must I purchase a DDR2 PC2-4200E444 exactly the same as what i have?

I just wanna know whether the PC2-6400 module makes any difference, it wont blow up my mac will it?

Cheers guys.



r.j.s
May 25, 2009, 07:25 AM
You need the PC2-4200. The G5 cannot take the PC2-6400.

MacChaaz
May 25, 2009, 07:29 AM
Thanks for responding mate. So let me understand you correctly,

I cannot use ANY other number other than the PC2-4200E-444 right?

Not even PC2-533 numbers? Nothing like that?

Cheers

r.j.s
May 25, 2009, 07:30 AM
Correct.

J&JPolangin
May 25, 2009, 07:44 AM
...here's what www.crucial.com says you need/can use:

http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=Power%20Mac%20G5%20%28Quad%202.5GHz%20DDR2%29

r.j.s
May 25, 2009, 07:45 AM
...here's what www.crucial.com says you need/can use:

http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=Power%20Mac%20G5%20%28Quad%202.5GHz%20DDR2%29

Buying the PC2-5300 on that page will not see any benefit, since it will just slow down to the 4200 rate.

300D
May 25, 2009, 07:51 AM
ECC will not work either.

MacChaaz
May 25, 2009, 07:53 AM
Yeah. But it seems NO stores sell PC4200E-444.

So if i just want 16 GBs of new RAM, i could very well just go ahead and purchase the PC2-5300 RAM right? But then why not the PC26400? Since they're all the same price.

But then RjC dude said i can't use ANY ram other than 4200E-444, otherwise my RAM wont ever work right?

Man, now i gotta find a supplier of 4200E ram.

MacChaaz
May 25, 2009, 07:55 AM
ECC will not work either.

Erm.. doesn't my Power mac use ECC ram? So why wouldn't the ECC ram that i purchase work for my mac?

I am getting confused here.

davidlv
May 25, 2009, 07:55 AM
Why try to use anything but the ram specified for that machine? I have a late 2005 Power Mac G5 2.0GHz and recently bought and installed 2 2GB PC2-4200E-444 chips, relatively inexpensive I thought. Along with the 4 256MB chips that were originally installed, I now have 5Gb so I know those PC2-4200E-444 chips work. Do a search for "PC2-4200E-444" on any ram shop, like OWC or other and you should be able to find the right ram for that machine and it will run better for it!:D
At least for my modest needs, 5 GB is more than enough, as I rarely use even half of it.
And don't be confused about the ECC ram either, your machine can use either, just don't mix within the pairs! You can use a mix of ECC and Non-ECC (NECC) too, but each pair must be identical. The chips are installed in pairs from the inner 2 slots outwards on the ram slot board (Does that make sense without a visual? I found a graphic description on the web (sorry no linky) but I didn't keep it around. Do you have the manual for the computer? There is a graphic in there too. It's actually quite easy to install.)

r.j.s
May 25, 2009, 07:57 AM
Take a look here:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=2013340551%201327924737%201328123923&name=DDR2%20533%20(PC2%204200)

MacChaaz
May 25, 2009, 07:58 AM
Why try to use anything but the ram specified for that machine? I have a late 2005 Power Mac G5 2.0GHz and recently bought and installed 2 2GB PC2-4200E-444 chips, relatively inexpensive I thought. Along with the 4 256MB chips that were originally installed, I now have 5Gb so I know those PC2-4200E-444 chips work. Do a search for "PC2-4200E-444" on any ram shop, like OWC or other and you should be able to find the right ram for that machine and it will run better for it!:D
At least for my modest needs, 5 GB is more than enough, as I rarely use even half of it.

Thanks mate. I think im just gonna do that. It makes the most sense, just follow what the heck i already have u know.

Its just that my PC mates told me that its better to have PC-numbers the highest coz it means they go faster or some ****.. i mean my mac is an older model so maybe they made "BETTER RAM" in the last 4 years.

Im searching for ram now.

MacChaaz
May 25, 2009, 08:01 AM
Take a look here:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=2013340551%201327924737%201328123923&name=DDR2%20533%20(PC2%204200)

cheers mate just what i need

300D
May 25, 2009, 08:04 AM
Erm.. doesn't my Power mac use ECC ram?

No.

PC4200 is dirt cheap at $15/GB. Load up with 8GB for $120. 5.5GB is plenty for me, even with a 2GB ram disk.

J&JPolangin
May 25, 2009, 08:06 AM
ECC will not work either.

...ECC memory is more expensive...if you can even find it in those speeds.

Also Crucial is a company putting their name on this product working... its more than some guys on a forum saying what will/won't work...

Pressure
May 25, 2009, 08:09 AM
Be sure to get Mac compatible ram!

Since it has 8 ram slots you can cheaply buy eight 2GB modules for a total of 16GB ram.

300D
May 25, 2009, 08:09 AM
EEC ram will not work when the computer cannot use it.

Be sure to get Mac compatible ram!
No such thing. As long as its PC4200, it will work.

Since it has 8 ram slots you can cheaply buy eight 2GB modules for a total of 16GB ram.
Unless they need that much, thats a waste of money. 8GB is more than ample for what a G5 can handle.

r.j.s
May 25, 2009, 08:15 AM
Its just that my PC mates told me that its better to have PC-numbers the highest coz it means they go faster or some ****..

Yes, higher numbers are faster, but the computer cannot go any faster than what it is rated. Yours is rated for PC2-4200, so that is the fastest it can utilize.

davidlv
May 25, 2009, 08:16 AM
The Apple manual that came with my late 2005 model (PCIe slots) 2.0GHz dual core machine says the machine can use ECC or non ECC, as I posted above. The older models with PCIx slots may not be compatible with ECC, I don't really know.
Given that it is OK on the late 2005 models, ECC is more expensive and I do not think it is necessary. At least my 5 GB of non-ECC ram works fine.:cool:

OrangeSVTguy
May 25, 2009, 08:30 AM
Usually finding the slower "recommended" by Apple Ram can sometimes be difficult and more expensive. Most memory modules will automatically downclock to the systems specs so running a stick of faster memory is not always a bad thing. I usually buy the faster memory for my machines because it's usually cheaper and would be more compatible if I put that in other machines that could use it.

Just because Apple doesn't "recommend" it doesn't mean it won't work, just like their maximum memory specs which we all know is usually false.

MacChaaz
May 25, 2009, 08:45 AM
Man and i thought only the social sciences could start such debates..

WEll Newegg is out, they do not ship outside the US.

And the dude who said Crucial is staking their name on it working... yet on the Quad Core page, they say PC 6400 is compatible with my system.

So i am really at a loss rofl...

Its hard for me to purchase an old PC2 4200 spec overseas in Singapore, they pride themselves on being top of the line and advanced, so either they're super advanced that i cant get old ram specs OR they are behind because i cant buy ram which i can get anywhere else rofl.

I am lost.

Pressure
May 25, 2009, 09:36 AM
No such thing. As long as its PC4200, it will work.

If you want to avoid issues, it would be better to get compatible ram modules.


Unless they need that much, thats a waste of money. 8GB is more than ample for what a G5 can handle.

The original poster said he wanted 16GB of ram and the late 2005 Power Mac happens to support up to 16GB.

300D
May 25, 2009, 09:39 AM
If you want to avoid issues, it would be better to get compatible ram modules.

Then he'd better get PC4200 ram.

davidlv
May 25, 2009, 02:39 PM
Try OWC, they ship to Japan so they should bee able to do Singapore too.
http://eshop.macsales.com/MyOWC/Upgrades.cfm?sort=pop&model=236&type=Memory&TI=3529&shoupgrds=Show+Upgrades
:D

Pressure
May 25, 2009, 03:00 PM
Man and i thought only the social sciences could start such debates..

WEll Newegg is out, they do not ship outside the US.

And the dude who said Crucial is staking their name on it working... yet on the Quad Core page, they say PC 6400 is compatible with my system.

So i am really at a loss rofl...

Its hard for me to purchase an old PC2 4200 spec overseas in Singapore, they pride themselves on being top of the line and advanced, so either they're super advanced that i cant get old ram specs OR they are behind because i cant buy ram which i can get anywhere else rofl.

I am lost.

Look for Kingston KTA-G5533/4G or KTA-G5533/2G :)

MacChaaz
May 26, 2009, 01:31 AM
Try OWC, they ship to Japan so they should bee able to do Singapore too.
http://eshop.macsales.com/MyOWC/Upgrades.cfm?sort=pop&model=236&type=Memory&TI=3529&shoupgrds=Show+Upgrades
:D

Yeah thanks this looks good.

and the ram looks compatible; they claim it is compatible, But then the ram on this website has no mention of EEC, isn't EEC a big deal when buying ram?

I just need help and can someone just tell me WHAT ram i can use that won't blow up my machine? (i doubt that happens really, but i am making a point) =)

Cheers

Pressure
May 26, 2009, 01:58 AM
Look for Kingston KTA-G5533/4G or KTA-G5533/2G :)

Yeah thanks this looks good.

and the ram looks compatible; they claim it is compatible, But then the ram on this website has no mention of EEC, isn't EEC a big deal when buying ram?

I just need help and can someone just tell me WHAT ram i can use that won't blow up my machine? (i doubt that happens really, but i am making a point) =)

Cheers

Yes, as I said before look for Kingston.

mailseth
Jun 13, 2009, 01:56 PM
This is what I'm running in my machine right now, without any problems, from Crucial:
Qty: 1 CT785039
Part Number: CT2KIT25672AA800
Price: $63.99
Description: 4GB kit (2GBx2), 240-pin DIMM Upgrade for a Apple Power Mac G5 (Dual 2.0GHz DDR2) System
Line total: $63.99

PC2-6400 • CL=6 • Unbuffered • ECC • DDR2-800 • 1.8V • 256Meg x 72 •

I've *never* had a problem with Crucial RAM, which is more than I can say for the RAM that Apple ships with their machines. And I've worked in an university department as tech support, so I've seen a verity of problems with many machines.

I'm thinking of buying another set of the above because 4 GB isn't cutting it for me.

Here are my system specs:
Model Name: Power Mac G5
Model Identifier: PowerMac11,2
Processor Name: PowerPC G5 (1.1)
Processor Speed: 2 GHz
Number Of CPUs: 2
L2 Cache (per CPU): 1 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Bus Speed: 1 GHz

zmttoxics
Jun 13, 2009, 10:30 PM
You CAN use modules with faster speeds. The system will under-clock the sticks the first usable state (this could be 4200, or even 3200). In my G5 I have 4x1GB PC2-6400 sticks and 4x512MB PC2-4200 sticks. The 6400 sticks are under-clocked to 3200 but the system is very much stable and passes all memory tests. The PC2-6400 sticks are OCZ Sli EPP sticks, they wouldn't work in one of my PC motherboards so the G5 got them. :)

TommyMacBrown
Jun 15, 2009, 07:21 PM
Yeah. But it seems NO stores sell PC4200E-444.

So if i just want 16 GBs of new RAM, i could very well just go ahead and purchase the PC2-5300 RAM right? But then why not the PC26400? Since they're all the same price.

But then RjC dude said i can't use ANY ram other than 4200E-444, otherwise my RAM wont ever work right?

Man, now i gotta find a supplier of 4200E ram.

oTHER wORLD cOMPUTING dOES!
http://eshop.macsales.com/

California
Jun 16, 2009, 09:28 AM
I've got some ram I can sell you but where ever you buy it -- you must make sure it is Apple compatible.