PDA

View Full Version : iTunes won't open when iPhone connected




Yizi
May 30, 2009, 06:13 PM
My iTunes used to pop up everytime i connected my iPhone 3G, but since i restored my iPhone i have to manually open it for the iPhone to sync and backup... any ideas how i can fix it?

Thanks,
Yizi



jmann
May 30, 2009, 06:19 PM
There should be an option in iTunes under your iPhone that says "open iTunes automatically when this device is connected" check that box.

Yizi
May 30, 2009, 06:30 PM
If your talking about under preferences > devices ? i already had a look but there is nothing there, please direct me if you found anything ...

jmann
May 30, 2009, 06:32 PM
No it's under the screen in iTunes that you see when you have your iPhone connected. It is the first tab/screen on the iPhone view. It should be at the bottom. Or if it isn't there, look through the other tabs.

EDIT: try checking the one that says to sync when iPhone is connected.

Yizi
May 30, 2009, 06:36 PM
I have 3 options check the attachment, and i checked other tabs, nothing like what you said or anything similar ...

Yizi
May 30, 2009, 06:39 PM
OK i have ticked the middle option like in your picture, still the same ...

koopa35
May 31, 2009, 12:55 AM
My iTunes used to pop up everytime i connected my iPhone 3G, but since i restored my iPhone i have to manually open it for the iPhone to sync and backup... any ideas how i can fix it?

Thanks,
Yizi

i got the same issue as of today. a fix would be nice

swr2000
May 31, 2009, 12:45 PM
i got the same issue as of today. a fix would be nice

I have a massive delay when I plug into my computer and when it starts to sync. Have to love Vista

intel1111
May 31, 2009, 12:53 PM
Had the same problem, this is how I fixed it
First make sure you that itunes helper is running, check in activity monitor
If not go to your applications folder and find itunes right click, show package contents, resources then find ituneshelper and start it.
Then make sure that its in your login items so you don't have to do that all the time

Hope that helps

koopa35
May 31, 2009, 09:12 PM
I have a massive delay when I plug into my computer and when it starts to sync. Have to love Vista

lol sorry to laugh at you. i hope you have a mac or maybe thinking of buying one.

inigel
Jul 20, 2009, 08:51 PM
Had the same problem, this is how I fixed it
First make sure you that itunes helper is running, check in activity monitor
If not go to your applications folder and find itunes right click, show package contents, resources then find ituneshelper and start it.
Then make sure that its in your login items so you don't have to do that all the time

Hope that helps

Sorry to resurrect a dead thread, but I have been having this problem as of late.

iTunesHelper wasn't running in the Activity Monitor, so I open the package and launched it. iTunesHelper does not show up in my Login items, How do I make it a start up process?

I tried clicking on the + icon and doing a search, but it wont show up. I also can't get the iTunes package to open in the dialogue.

WolverineGuy
Jul 20, 2009, 10:06 PM
Usually for me when this happens iTunes is hanging and will not open another instance of it, and I have to ctrl-alt-del kill it. Then it will open up

claidheamdanns
Dec 3, 2009, 04:17 PM
Sorry to resurrect a dead thread, but I have been having this problem as of late.

iTunesHelper wasn't running in the Activity Monitor, so I open the package and launched it. iTunesHelper does not show up in my Login items, How do I make it a start up process?

I tried clicking on the + icon and doing a search, but it wont show up. I also can't get the iTunes package to open in the dialogue.

I see no one answered your question, so here is how you do that for a package item.

Go to your login items window. But find the item in your Finder window per the instruction above, not through the add dialog in System prefs. Drag the item into the login items window. This works for any app, not just ones that are hidden inside packages.

hsotnicam8002
Feb 26, 2010, 11:46 AM
I see no one answered your question, so here is how you do that for a package item.

Go to your login items window. But find the item in your Finder window per the instruction above, not through the add dialog in System prefs. Drag the item into the login items window. This works for any app, not just ones that are hidden inside packages.That's a great tip. Many thanks!