PDA

View Full Version : The New PB vs. Dual PM


iEric
May 15, 2004, 11:09 AM
Right now, I have a Dual Powermac G4 1ghz MMD...
I was just wondering if this Dual Powermac was faster than the new G4 15"/17" 1.5 Ghz w/ 128 MB Video Ram

Lets just say both systems have 80GB HD @ 5400, airport extreme, and 512MB of ram.

saabmp3
May 15, 2004, 07:14 PM
Depends on if the programs your testing are dual CPU intentisve/enabled or not. For example photoshop, which is capable of using both CPU's, will work much better one your dual system. Day to day apps will work faster on the 1.5 GHz powerbooks probably.

BEN

iEric
May 15, 2004, 08:34 PM
I'll probably be using Photoshop, but not intensely. Like I only use it to crop pics, do some layers, some cut outs, and some cool effects.
And otherwise, I'll be using Word, Keynote, iApps, Safari.

Apple of my eye
May 15, 2004, 09:06 PM
I sold my MDD dual 1Ghz mac for a new 15" 1.5Ghz PB with 512 ram, 128meg ati mobilility 9700, and 80 gig 4200 rpm HDD. My MDD system had 1.75 gigs ram, and over 350 gigs of 7200rpm HDD, a radeon 9000pro with 64 megs vram. The MDD computer was noticebly faster than the powerbook, but is upgraded quite abit above the standard config of my PB. I would never trade in the portability of my new PB for the minimal performance loss.

Mord
May 16, 2004, 02:17 AM
don't foget the loss of level 3 cache

iEric
May 16, 2004, 10:12 AM
How come they can't add L3 Cache on the PBs?