PDA

View Full Version : airport works ok, then disappears


maikeru
May 16, 2004, 07:22 PM
new to mac

just got a 17" pb with 2gb ram

airport works OK but is very slow

bigger problem is that sometimes the base station disappears. i am unable to find it in the airport manager utility

when i reboot the airport is recognized again.

i dumped windows to get away from this nonsense. please help.

cjc343
May 16, 2004, 08:05 PM
are you using the latest version of software/firmware?

How far away are you?

JOD8FY
May 16, 2004, 08:20 PM
If all else fails, give Apple a call. Maybe you got a defective base station/card?

Good luck,
JOD8FY

Tommy!
May 16, 2004, 08:31 PM
Although my airport basestation is really an emac, I get this same problem. Not that it's slow, but that it randomly dissapears; it's the weirdest thing. This isn't the nature of computer base-stationing, is it?

maikeru
May 16, 2004, 08:33 PM
are you using the latest version of software/firmware?

How far away are you?


I've got all the latest updates. Actually went to the Apple store in Ginza to get all the latest and greatest updates. PB is brand new and the base station is the extreme version.

I'm not terribly far....maybe 10 meters away (with a wall between).
Regarding the distance, have not had trouble with this setup on other computers.

winwintoo
May 16, 2004, 08:53 PM
I had a similar problem with my Apple Extreme Base Station and my iBook - was ready to toss the whole set-up until I found this article:resetting AEBS (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=107451) and followed it's advice. I haven't had any trouble since.

When someone first suggested it, I didn't think it sound like the right solution, but I knew my iBook was working, I could get onto the network at the airport and one of my neighbors has an unprotected network that I can access with no problem. Resetting the AEBS worked - it's worth a try anyway.

HTH M

DaBuzz
May 18, 2004, 11:58 AM
Are you getting a particular error message (such as "There was an error joining network <<Airport Network Name>>")?

Mitthrawnuruodo
May 18, 2004, 12:13 PM
Have you tried iStumbler or macStumbler to see if there is another BaseStation close by. If there is another BS operating on the same channel as yours then you could loose your connection every time there is traffic on the other network due to interference...