PDA

View Full Version : NAS + Spotlight + AirTunes




cube
Jun 15, 2009, 12:00 PM
Can Time Capsule be only used as a NAS + router/wireless access point (not interested in Time Machine)?

Is Time Capsule the only NAS with Spotlight support?

How do you make all wireless connections to go through Time Capsule (I only want to use Airport Express as a LAN-to-audio interface, because its LAN port is too slow for an N-only WLAN, but the wireless cannot be disabled).

Thanks



cube
Jun 15, 2009, 12:57 PM
It seems Time Capsule's disk can only do 6 MB/s over N and 20 MB/s over gigabit. That seems slow. But I want Spotlight.

milk242
Jun 15, 2009, 05:50 PM
I'm assuming your time capsule is connected to your broadband modem through the wan port.

So with that, just turn on your time capsule wireless and set up any security and for your airport express, set it to join a wireless network.

Curious, why do you want an all wireless network? Wired is a lot faster.

cube
Jun 16, 2009, 03:07 AM
I didn't say I want an all-wireless network.

I don't have a Time Capsule. I'm only considering it if it's the only NAS with Spotlight.

But if I get the Time Capsule, I don't want to use the Express wireless AT ALL.

milk242
Jun 16, 2009, 04:38 AM
Alright well I searched google and found this:
http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=231424&tstart=930

Basically saying to create an alias for your nas in your home directory and osx should index it.

For your airtunes, I believe you can connect the Ethernet port on the airport express to your router and turn off wireless functionality.

cube
Jun 16, 2009, 09:48 AM
Alright well I searched google and found this:
http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=231424&tstart=930

Basically saying to create an alias for your nas in your home directory and osx should index it.

For your airtunes, I believe you can connect the Ethernet port on the airport express to your router and turn off wireless functionality.

I saw that thread, but I think if the solution were that simple there would not be discussions about manual reindexing, closed source mdimport, etc. in diverse forums.

The Express FAQ says you can't turn wireless off, only set it to minimum power.

cube
Jun 16, 2009, 10:58 AM
What kind of performance do people get from a new Mac mini as file server?

milk242
Jun 16, 2009, 03:33 PM
Strange... in my airport utility for the airport express I see the option for "Disable wireless and connect to a computer or network using ethernet"

cube
Jun 17, 2009, 03:53 PM
Yes, in Manual Setup I see the Wireless Mode: Off option.

It seems that FAQ is outdated.

Thanks