PDA

View Full Version : iChat not letting me add new people


brynismyname
May 20, 2004, 01:36 PM
iChat has recently started not letting me add new buddies. It comes back with an error:

AIM Error
Could not add <buddyname> to your buddy list. (Feedbag error 10)

I'm able to add people through opening up the AIM program, but not directly through iChat. I tried re-installing it, but it didn't make any difference. Please help!

Rower_CPU
May 20, 2004, 04:30 PM
Have you tried searching Apple's discussion forums or knowledge base for that error message?

That's where I'd start.

brynismyname
May 20, 2004, 05:08 PM
Okay, I looked on there. Lots of people seem to have had problems with Feedbag error 17 - which is where you can't add new buddies if you have 150 buddies. But I only have about 20 buddies, and besides I'm getting Feedbag error 10, and I can't find info about that anywhere.

What should I do?

7on
May 20, 2004, 08:33 PM
delete the iChat preferences

brynismyname
May 20, 2004, 08:57 PM
How should I do that?

Godfather
May 20, 2004, 09:10 PM
com.apple.chatClient.plist inside user/library/prefs/

I am not sure if this is right, but it sounds like it.

musicpyrite
May 20, 2004, 10:11 PM
com.apple.chatClient.plist inside user/library/prefs/

I am not sure if this is right, but it sounds like it.

Yes, that always works when I need to reset Mail, so it should work for iChat.

brynismyname
May 20, 2004, 11:09 PM
Nope, didn't work, it's still having the same problem.

brynismyname
May 21, 2004, 05:30 PM
Do you think I should re-install Panther?

musicpyrite
May 22, 2004, 09:39 PM
Do you think I should re-install Panther?


Wow! Your that desparate? Why don't you head over to Apple.com's forums and ask them. There is always something over there that MacRumors members doesn't know (and vise-versa).

brynismyname
May 23, 2004, 12:37 AM
You have to be a .Mac member - don't you?

saabmp3
May 23, 2004, 11:16 AM
Nope, the all tech support forums are open to all, including those who don't have macs' :-p

BEN

micvog
Jun 5, 2004, 01:44 PM
Did you ever find a solution? I am having the same problem (first time I have used iChat).

titaniumducky
Jun 5, 2004, 05:02 PM
Try reinstalling iChat only.

micvog
Jun 5, 2004, 06:50 PM
Figured it out... I needed to add a Buddy List first.