PDA

View Full Version : ECC Registered RAM?


lind0834
May 26, 2004, 06:08 PM
Alright, I've got a Sawtooth (AGP) waiting for some more RAM.
I found a guy who is parting out an older server and is selling 1Gig (256 x 4) of Corsair PC100 Registered ECC RAM for a good price.

http://www.corsairmicro.com/main/products/specs/cm764s256.html

It says it's Pin-Compatible with PC100 RAM so I guess it sounds good to me. My one question is will the ECC or Registering force it to not work? I know G4s can't take advantage of those kind of extra fancy features, but the price is right.

Thanks in Advance.

-Lind

lind0834
May 27, 2004, 07:28 AM
Anybody have any experience with ECC in a G4?
I eventually tracked down one guy on on the LEM G-List, who it didn't work for. I'm sure somebody else in the world has at least tried it.

iGary
May 27, 2004, 07:49 AM
My MDD G4 specifically calls for NON error correcting RAM.

Don't know if that helps. :confused:

Finiksa
May 27, 2004, 08:21 AM
EEC RAM will only work in logic boards with a chipset specifically designed to support them. No desktop Mac will accept EEC, Xserve will however.

iGary
May 27, 2004, 09:12 AM
I do believe Steve specifically mentioned that at MWSF - (The Xserves accepting ECC RAM).

JFreak
May 27, 2004, 09:45 AM
ecc ram should work everywhere, but not all boards take advantage of the error correction. i'd say buy it if you can get it cheap, because it is usually far more expensive than the regular ram, and if it doesn't work out (it should be fine!) - you just sell it on the ebay and probably get some profit.

iGary
May 27, 2004, 10:56 AM
Crucial is saying no to the parity (ECC) chips for G4's

wrldwzrd89
May 27, 2004, 11:30 AM
The ECC RAM may be pin-compatible, but that doesn't necessarily mean the motherboard on that Mac will recognize it. In fact, I'd say odds are good that it WON'T work in your Mac. According to Apple, the G5 Xserves are the only Macs equipped to use/take advantage of ECC memory.

iGary
May 27, 2004, 12:13 PM
The ECC RAM may be pin-compatible, but that doesn't necessarily mean the motherboard on that Mac will recognize it. In fact, I'd say odds are good that it WON'T work in your Mac. According to Apple, the G5 Xserves are the only Macs equipped to use/take advantage of ECC memory.


Nice to see Apple and Crucial agree. :p

Wyrm
May 27, 2004, 07:06 PM
Are the notches for registered memory the same?
I don't even know if the memory would physically fit in the slot. ECC and Non-ECC do have the same notches.

-Wyrm

Shaun.P
Sep 12, 2005, 01:06 PM
Oh no! I've ordered RAM from eBay 58 for 1GB, and it doesn't say if it's ECC or Non-ECC and it's coming tomorrow!

So it won't work in my eMac if it's ECC?

I know if it's ECC the number of banks will be divisible by 3 or 5. There better not be 12 or 15 banks!