ECC Registered RAM?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by lind0834, May 26, 2004.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    #1
    Alright, I've got a Sawtooth (AGP) waiting for some more RAM.
    I found a guy who is parting out an older server and is selling 1Gig (256 x 4) of Corsair PC100 Registered ECC RAM for a good price.

    http://www.corsairmicro.com/main/products/specs/cm764s256.html

    It says it's Pin-Compatible with PC100 RAM so I guess it sounds good to me. My one question is will the ECC or Registering force it to not work? I know G4s can't take advantage of those kind of extra fancy features, but the price is right.

    Thanks in Advance.

    -Lind
     
  2. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    #2
    ??

    Anybody have any experience with ECC in a G4?
    I eventually tracked down one guy on on the LEM G-List, who it didn't work for. I'm sure somebody else in the world has at least tried it.
     
  3. Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #3
    My MDD G4 specifically calls for NON error correcting RAM.

    Don't know if that helps. :confused:
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Finiksa

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    EEC RAM will only work in logic boards with a chipset specifically designed to support them. No desktop Mac will accept EEC, Xserve will however.
     
  5. Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #5
    I do believe Steve specifically mentioned that at MWSF - (The Xserves accepting ECC RAM).
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    JFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
    #6
    ecc ram should work everywhere, but not all boards take advantage of the error correction. i'd say buy it if you can get it cheap, because it is usually far more expensive than the regular ram, and if it doesn't work out (it should be fine!) - you just sell it on the ebay and probably get some profit.
     
  7. Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #7
    Crucial is saying no to the parity (ECC) chips for G4's
     
  8. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #8
    The ECC RAM may be pin-compatible, but that doesn't necessarily mean the motherboard on that Mac will recognize it. In fact, I'd say odds are good that it WON'T work in your Mac. According to Apple, the G5 Xserves are the only Macs equipped to use/take advantage of ECC memory.
     
  9. Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #9

    Nice to see Apple and Crucial agree. :p
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Toekeeyoe, Japan
    #10
    Registered Memory

    Are the notches for registered memory the same?
    I don't even know if the memory would physically fit in the slot. ECC and Non-ECC do have the same notches.

    -Wyrm
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Shaun.P

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    #11
    Oh no! I've ordered RAM from eBay £58 for 1GB, and it doesn't say if it's ECC or Non-ECC and it's coming tomorrow!

    So it won't work in my eMac if it's ECC?

    I know if it's ECC the number of banks will be divisible by 3 or 5. There better not be 12 or 15 banks!
     

Share This Page