PDA

View Full Version : Power Mac g4 CD drive update




meezvzw
Jun 26, 2009, 10:43 PM
I have a Power Mac G4 350Mhz (Yikes, PCI graphics) (M7826LL/A). And i have an extra LG GSA-H10L, can i put that in the Mac? Or does it need to be a specific apple one?



OrangeSVTguy
Jun 27, 2009, 12:16 AM
Macs (from my own experience) will support really anything that you install into it with full support from OS-X.

Dave H
Jun 27, 2009, 02:47 AM
I have a Power Mac G4 350Mhz (Yikes, PCI graphics) (M7826LL/A). And i have an extra LG GSA-H10L, can i put that in the Mac? Or does it need to be a specific apple one?

Just to be safe, you might try booting from the LG drive with a retail OS install disk.
B&W G3s are kind of picky about which optical drives the will start up from.
I used to have a B&W with a Lite-On burner, and a firmware update made the drive non-bootable.
This page (http://forums.xlr8yourmac.com/drivedb/search.drivedb.lasso) has many user reviews of drive upgrades in Macs.
Note: To boot a PCI graphics G4 from an OS install disk, hold the C key. G4 and earlier Macs with PCI graphics don't have the Option-boot feature.

meezvzw
Jun 27, 2009, 11:54 AM
Just to be safe, you might try booting from the LG drive with a retail OS install disk.
B&W G3s are kind of picky about which optical drives the will start up from.
I used to have a B&W with a Lite-On burner, and a firmware update made the drive non-bootable.
This page (http://forums.xlr8yourmac.com/drivedb/search.drivedb.lasso) has many user reviews of drive upgrades in Macs.
Note: To boot a PCI graphics G4 from an OS install disk, hold the C key. G4 and earlier Macs with PCI graphics don't have the Option-boot feature.

Alright, What will happen when i hold down the "c" key? Do i need to put the disk in first? What do i do after the i hold down the "c" key?

Dave H
Jun 28, 2009, 02:16 AM
http://www.jacsoft.co.nz/Tech_Notes/Mac_Keys.htm

meezvzw
Jun 28, 2009, 05:39 PM
http://www.jacsoft.co.nz/Tech_Notes/Mac_Keys.htm

Thank you! i have successfully installed the DVD-RAM, I'm now one step closer to upgrading from 10.3 to 10.5 Leopard