PDA

View Full Version : Optusnet Prepaid dialup speeds (AUS)


aussie_geek
Jun 10, 2004, 09:36 PM
Hey there fellow aussies,

I just went out and got some prepaid internet from Optus this morning and I must say that I am very unsatisfied with the speed that I am connecting at. The max speed that I have been able to connect at is 37000 bps. Is this normal to expect from dialup?

The only reason I got it was so I could surf while at work (they are too stingey to provide access :( ). But at this rate I think i wasted my money.

Anyone else have prepaid and having the same dillemma?


aussie_geek

reptilia
Jun 10, 2004, 09:55 PM
I didnt have pre-paid, just a 12mth contract for dial up. Needless to say it was the longest 12mths of my life. I also had a lot of drop outs which was very frustrating. Switched over to cable with Optus about 6mths ago now and its been smooth sailing :)

Finiksa
Jun 11, 2004, 12:45 AM
The max speed that I have been able to connect at is 37000 bps. Is this normal to expect from dialup?

The maximum speed you'll be able to get on an Australian phone line (reliably) is about 48k, but 44k is pretty average so 37k is fairly slow. I suspect it has nothing to so with Optus, and is more like the result of poor line quality at your dial out location or the local Telstra exchange. Telstra are only required to provide a phone line capable of 14k data transmission.

aussie_geek
Jun 11, 2004, 05:42 AM
I ended up ringing Optus to have a winge about it. They told me to set my modem preferences to V90 instead of V92. This made a big difference - can connect at 50kbps now with no dropouts. ;)

I actually have Optus cable at home and I only use the dialup at work. God bless cable internet, now I have to sit and wait for pages to load at work - a thing I havent had to do in ages...

aussie_geek