PDA

View Full Version : Powerbook screen differences?

f-matic
Jun 14, 2004, 08:45 AM
Hi all,

I recently got the newest revision 12" powerbook and have so far been extremely happy with it... until I started playing with a friend's 12" powerbook (same revision) and noticed that the Apple light on the back of her screen glows a lot more brightly than mine. So I took a close look at the screen and realized her screen is a fair shade brighter than mine -- noticeable when working with anything color based in Photoshop, or just in general usage. I'm wondering if anyone else has noticed screen differences between different powerbooks of the same revision and type? Would Apple use two different types of LCD in the same series of powerbook? Or is it possible that I just received a slightly dud screen?

I'm still very satisfied with my own powerbook -- the screen seems bright enough for me -- just experiencing a mild bout of jealousy for my friend's screen!

anyone had similar experiences?

thanks
nick

jeremy.king
Jun 14, 2004, 09:57 AM
Have you tried increasing brightness?

f-matic
Jun 14, 2004, 10:09 AM
ha! yup, indeed i have -- my screen is on the highest brightness setting. any other ideas?

jeremy.king
Jun 14, 2004, 10:14 AM
Do the 12 inchers (powerbooks fellas, powerbooks) have that ambient light sensor? If so, perhaps that could be the problem?

N10248
Jun 14, 2004, 10:24 AM
I've noticed similar differences with flat panel iMacs, i have a 15" and my friend has a 17". when both systems were next to each other there was a definate colour and brightness difference, the 17" was "Bluer" and brighter and they were both using same colour profiles / brightness levels etc, it was a very noticable difference, true they are completly different displays but apple do often go on about how their displays are good for "acurate colour".

your display may just be from a different batch, maybe some of the newest powerbooks use the same older screens and some have a newer type.