PDA

View Full Version : 8 Hard Drives...




Unverrich
Aug 2, 2009, 11:43 AM
Hello everyone.

I have 8 Hard drives filled with Apple TV Content. Six 1TB's and two 750GB's. They are all internal HD's and have them in 4 enclosure kits that hold two HD's each. Well, I am sick of it showing 8 HD's mounted to my Mac in sidebar so I wanted to get one big enclosure kit that can hold all 8 HD's at once and have 1 large HD.

What can I buy?

I dont want to have to erase all my HDs to format them for the RAIDs or whatever that is.

What options do I have?



Chris Rogers
Aug 2, 2009, 12:35 PM
Hello everyone.

I have 8 Hard drives filled with Apple TV Content. Six 1TB's and two 750GB's. They are all internal HD's and have them in 4 enclosure kits that hold two HD's each. Well, I am sick of it showing 8 HD's mounted to my Mac in sidebar so I wanted to get one big enclosure kit that can hold all 8 HD's at once and have 1 large HD.

What can I buy?

I dont want to have to erase all my HDs to format them for the RAIDs or whatever that is.

What options do I have?

drobo?

zedsdead
Aug 2, 2009, 01:00 PM
drobo?

The Drobo will reformat the hard drives.

Bcos17
Aug 2, 2009, 01:16 PM
http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/hard-drives/RAID/Desktop/


Something like this could fit 4 drives and you could buy it empty for $379.99. I don't think there is anything like this that fits 8 drives. You could do two of these and only have 2 drives mounting on your desktop.

drewster
Aug 2, 2009, 01:22 PM
Xserve raid from ebay??

Room for expansion and aluminum matches the apple tv.

Might be a tad loud....

Chris Rogers
Aug 2, 2009, 01:34 PM
The Drobo will reformat the hard drives.

true...buy an external, transfer, and return the external after everything is setup?

Shuttleworth
Aug 2, 2009, 01:38 PM
Something like this perhaps:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/EdgeStore-DAS400-Bay-USB-Enclosure/dp/B001H54JXQ

or possibly this if you have eSATA:

http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/4-/7871830/-/Product.html

More info here:

http://www.edge10.com/digital_storage.php


Dunno about availability in the USA though.

Unverrich
Aug 2, 2009, 01:43 PM
http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/hard-drives/RAID/Desktop/


Something like this could fit 4 drives and you could buy it empty for $379.99. I don't think there is anything like this that fits 8 drives. You could do two of these and only have 2 drives mounting on your desktop.

Nice! If I got this it wont erase any of my HDs? It will just look like one big 4TB drive mounted to my mac right?

dlegend
Aug 2, 2009, 01:45 PM
with almost 8 TBs of stuff do you have a backup? If you can't find anything to fit 8 drives they make 2tb internal drives. Or maybe the Western Digital 4tb externals...

Erendiox
Aug 2, 2009, 01:50 PM
Without being able to erase the drives, your options are pretty slim. Even if you took all the drives and put them into an 8 bay array, they'd still appear as 8 drives without reformatting. There's probably a way of concatenating the drives through software so that they appear as one large volume, but again, that would require reformatting. In a nutshell, without reformatting the drives, I don't know of any way to make them not appear as 8 volumes.

Unverrich
Aug 2, 2009, 01:52 PM
Hmmm..... ok. Sounds like Im going to have to reformat them all. I just wanted to save time. Moving all that info will take forever.

One more question. I use an iMac, is there any kind of adaptor or anything to make a eSata cable to USB?

Unverrich
Aug 2, 2009, 02:05 PM
will this work?

http://www.microbarn.com/details.aspx?rid=102048&source=froogle

Unverrich
Aug 2, 2009, 02:07 PM
Reason Im asking is if I buy something with eSata only, like this...

http://www.edge10.com/digital_storage.php

I want to convert it to USB so I can use it on my iMac

Erendiox
Aug 2, 2009, 02:07 PM
One more question. I use an iMac, is there any kind of adaptor or anything to make a eSata cable to USB?

At first I was going to say that it doesn't exist, but I'm wrong. Look here (http://www.addonics.com/products/io/aau2esa.asp).

It's amazing how much I end up learning on these forums.

Erendiox
Aug 2, 2009, 02:09 PM
Reason Im asking is if I buy something with eSata only, like this...

http://www.edge10.com/digital_storage.php

I want to convert it to USB so I can use it on my iMac

Keep in mind, while the adapter will work, you're dumbing down the speed of eSata to the speed of USB2.0. A big reason that you'd get that kind of a multiple bay Raid enclosure is for speed and by using USB you're throwing that advantage out the window.

Shuttleworth
Aug 2, 2009, 02:12 PM
Keep in mind, while the adapter will work, you're dumbing down the speed of eSata to the speed of USB2.0. A big reason that you'd get that kind of a multiple bay Raid enclosure is for speed and by using USB you're throwing that advantage out the window.

He's got an iMac, he hasn't got that advantage anyway;)

A direct attached NAS with Gigabit Ethernet would probably be fastest you can get on an iMac wouldn't it? Otherwise it's FW800.

Erendiox
Aug 2, 2009, 03:46 PM
He's got an iMac, he hasn't got that advantage anyway;)

Hehe, yea there's no way around it with an iMac. I was mostly suggesting that perhaps that enclosure is overkill for the OP's needs.


A direct attached NAS with Gigabit Ethernet would probably be fastest you can get on an iMac wouldn't it? Otherwise it's FW800.

I believe Gigabit Ethernet is technically faster (1000Mbps vs 800Mbps), though The firewire architecture may make FW800 a more desirable choice, even with the speed difference.

j2048b
Aug 3, 2009, 03:23 PM
or you could build something like this guy did:

http://www.macmod.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=3149

i only wish i had the funds and knowledge to build this!!

kind of big nd heavy but worth it!!

geoffreak
Aug 3, 2009, 03:27 PM
If you want to transform multiple drives into "one large drive", you will overwrite the data, regardless of the system used.

rhett7660
Aug 3, 2009, 04:50 PM
Since you already have the drives.... if they are sata... try this:

http://www.lime-technology.com/joomla/

http://www.lime-technology.com/joomla/products

j2048b
Aug 4, 2009, 02:16 AM
Since you already have the drives.... if they are sata... try this:

http://www.lime-technology.com/joomla/

http://www.lime-technology.com/joomla/products

Been looking to do this as well, do you got an unraid server as well? if so what specs?

this would be ideal!!

i want to do this soon!

orpheus1120
Aug 4, 2009, 02:39 PM
Is there any 4-bay kit that does JBOD? Unlike the OP, I would wish to have individual drives show up. :D I wish to have a 8-drive setup.

As oppose to having 4 x 2-bay, a 2x 4bay setup will only need 2 power adapters instead of 4.

I've asked a CS officer in OWC, and he told me there's no 4-bay kit that support JBOD. Anyone has any recommendation?

Shuttleworth
Aug 4, 2009, 04:17 PM
Is there any 4-bay kit that does JBOD? Unlike the OP, I would wish to have individual drives show up.

Check the links in my 1st post above, they can take 4 drives JBOD or individually. Although they are from a European retailer, I'm sure the items will be available elsewhere under a different brand name.

Unverrich
Aug 4, 2009, 09:30 PM
Since you already have the drives.... if they are sata... try this:

http://www.lime-technology.com/joomla/

http://www.lime-technology.com/joomla/products

So if I got something like this, how would it show up on my Mac? Connected via USB? Ethernet?

Is is fast?

Sorry not very knowledgeable about this stuff, I wanna learn tho! :-)

reebzor
Aug 5, 2009, 10:14 AM
What is wrong with buying a drobo pro and a 2tb harddrive?

All you would have to do is: Copy the contents of one drive to the drive in the drobo pro, then throw that drive in there and repeat until you are left with all of your media in the drobo and an extra 750gb lying around. Then when you need more space just put out that other 750 and throw another 2tb in. It's super easy

rhett7660
Aug 5, 2009, 05:41 PM
So if I got something like this, how would it show up on my Mac? Connected via USB? Ethernet?

Is is fast?

Sorry not very knowledgeable about this stuff, I wanna learn tho! :-)

If you are really interested in this, start looking at the forum lime tech has. There are people there who are more then willing to help you out.

rhett7660
Aug 5, 2009, 05:47 PM
Is there any 4-bay kit that does JBOD? Unlike the OP, I would wish to have individual drives show up. :D I wish to have a 8-drive setup.

As oppose to having 4 x 2-bay, a 2x 4bay setup will only need 2 power adapters instead of 4.

I've asked a CS officer in OWC, and he told me there's no 4-bay kit that support JBOD. Anyone has any recommendation?


Are you sure there isn't an OWC product that supports 4-bay JBOD? I have one. Ala it is not connected to my mac anymore, it now sits in my closet connected to my xp box. But just do a search at newegg.com and you will fine a couple that do support JBOD...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816111021R
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816111074R


5 bay
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817332017

They don't look that pretty. :)