PDA

View Full Version : Best Mac for Handbraking?




Trivial rock
Aug 2, 2009, 04:57 PM
As many others on these forums I am in the process of converting my very large DVD collection into a digital format. I use handbrake on the Apple Universal settings. Films look great on my 32" Philips 720p HD TV.

My problem is I owned a 2.8GHz 8 core MacPro for a few months. The plan was to sell my iMac and my MBP to fund it. I sold the iMac but the MBP wouldnt sell for a reasonable price so the MacPro had to go.

The MacPro would take 30-45 mins to do a film. My late 08 uMBP 2.4GHz takes ~ 3 hours. This is a real drag. Now although I cant afford a MP at the current time I can afford an iMac however is there going to be any great speed increase in the time it takes to rip a film? If there is not much difference then would there be much difference between my MacBook Pro and a Mac Mini?

If there was little difference between the MBP and Mac Mini then I could buy a mini, and just leave it to rip. I cant do this with my MBP because the fans need to be at 6200RPM to keep it at a nice cool 72C. All the time it is on my lap because I dont want to have to stop using it a 3 hours at a time while it rips DVDs! The MBP is my primary and only machine at the moment.

Another thought is, is there a better setting to rip with that will take less time but keep the quality the same?

Any thoughts much appreciated.
Triv



Eidorian
Aug 2, 2009, 05:00 PM
Do it under Windows on a quad or greater. Lynnfield is coming out next month as well.

rhett7660
Aug 2, 2009, 05:07 PM
Hmm.. that is weird. My Mac Pro 2.8 with 8gigs takes 10minutes or so to rip a movie. I have been using pretty high bitrates etc. Most of my files are between the 4-6gig range when done.

Trivial rock
Aug 2, 2009, 05:12 PM
Hmm.. that is weird. My Mac Pro 2.8 with 8gigs takes 10minutes or so to rip a movie. I have been using pretty high bitrates etc. Most of my files are between the 4-6gig range when done.

My 30-45 minutes was a rough guide, I do remeber it doing many in ~ 20 mins, sizes were usually 1.2 - 1.8 GB. Either way my current Mac takes 3 hours! While its on my lap annoying me. Any ideas?

Trivial rock
Aug 2, 2009, 05:17 PM
Do it under Windows on a quad or greater. Lynnfield is coming out next month as well.

Sorry not up to date on the latest releases I assume Lynnfield is a new processor architecture?

If I was to purchase a quad core pc now (I have dabbled with the idea). Is there a manufacturer or model you would recommend to someone who doesn't want to build one themselves? If I was to go this route I would like to do some casual gaming.

Edit: Also which program would you recommend to rip films? i have read under windows you require more than just handbrake to rip a film?

Eidorian
Aug 2, 2009, 05:26 PM
Sorry not up to date on the latest releases I assume Lynnfield is a new processor architecture?

If I was to purchase a quad core pc now (I have dabbled with the idea). Is there a manufacturer or model you would recommend to someone who doesn't want to build one themselves? If I was to go this route I would like to do some casual gaming.

Edit: Also which program would you recommend to rip films? i have read under windows you require more than just handbrake to rip a film?I use DVD Fab to rip under Windows and then move on to Handbrake.

Core 2 Quad on a budget or Lynnfield (Core i5/Core i7 8xx) or upward to Bloomfield (Core i7 9xx).

AMD tends to suffer on the HandBrake benches.

sjjordan
Aug 2, 2009, 09:22 PM
It takes about the same amount of time on my MBP.

Try ripping 4 movies to your HD at a time and then queue them in handbrake to run overnight. (MactheRipper takes about 20min/DVD)

My brothers and I converted our entire library using handbrake, running 3 MBPs 24/7 for 3 days. The Queue option is awesome.

cantthinkofone
Aug 2, 2009, 09:28 PM
Sorry not up to date on the latest releases I assume Lynnfield is a new processor architecture?

If I was to purchase a quad core pc now (I have dabbled with the idea). Is there a manufacturer or model you would recommend to someone who doesn't want to build one themselves? If I was to go this route I would like to do some casual gaming.

Edit: Also which program would you recommend to rip films? i have read under windows you require more than just handbrake to rip a film?

Build a hackintosh ;)

DoFoT9
Aug 2, 2009, 09:35 PM
Hmm.. that is weird. My Mac Pro 2.8 with 8gigs takes 10minutes or so to rip a movie. I have been using pretty high bitrates etc. Most of my files are between the 4-6gig range when done.

he is converting, not ripping.. ;)

xraydoc
Aug 2, 2009, 09:52 PM
My 2006 Mac Pro quad 2.66GHz will do an Apple Universal encode on Handbrake in 30 minutes or so for an average DVD.

So, think about an older, used Mac Pro to keep things less pricey.

soLoredd
Aug 3, 2009, 12:34 AM
It takes about the same amount of time on my MBP.

Try ripping 4 movies to your HD at a time and then queue them in handbrake to run overnight. (MactheRipper takes about 20min/DVD)

My brothers and I converted our entire library using handbrake, running 3 MBPs 24/7 for 3 days. The Queue option is awesome.

That's my method as well. I am going to be getting a desktop at some point, and would love an octo-core :) But it would be nice to have something else to do the work so my MBP isn't tied up all the time.

Trivial rock
Aug 3, 2009, 03:57 AM
My 2006 Mac Pro quad 2.66GHz will do an Apple Universal encode on Handbrake in 30 minutes or so for an average DVD.

So, think about an older, used Mac Pro to keep things less pricey.

30 minutes to do an average film. I have heard Handbrake cant use more than 4 cores so that would make sense. Thats excellent news thank you xraydoc and some good advice. I think I'll have a look on ebay.

DoFoT9
Aug 3, 2009, 03:59 AM
30 minutes to do an average film. I have heard Handbrake cant use more than 4 cores so that would make sense. Thats excellent news thank you xraydoc and some good advice. I think I'll have a look on ebay.

dont quote me on this but i was under the impression that the latest handbrake (or maybe SVN) is completely multi-core?? *googles*

Trivial rock
Aug 3, 2009, 04:09 AM
dont quote me on this but i was under the impression that the latest handbrake (or maybe SVN) is completely multi-core?? *googles*

It may have been an older thread I read that information (I have looked at many recently). Either way Im totally happy with 30mins per DVD into Apple Universal.

DoFoT9
Aug 3, 2009, 04:11 AM
It may have been an older thread I read that information (I have looked at many recently). Either way Im totally happy with 30mins per DVD into Apple Universal.

yea totally!! that is basically nearly 50 movies a day! (if you have them all ripped onto HD of course)..

i found this::

this (http://digg.com/apple/Handbrake_for_Intel_Macs_is_out_and_it_is_fast_) guy seems to think that his 8-core rips in 8minutes.. (its down in the comments)

I'm getting 291fps on a 8-core mac with all processors maxed out - very nice - hardly any programs do this. Just ripped an entire DVD in 8 minutes.

mind you though he doesnt say at what settings..

Trivial rock
Aug 3, 2009, 04:15 AM
It takes about the same amount of time on my MBP.

Try ripping 4 movies to your HD at a time and then queue them in handbrake to run overnight. (MactheRipper takes about 20min/DVD)

My brothers and I converted our entire library using handbrake, running 3 MBPs 24/7 for 3 days. The Queue option is awesome.

The problem is, is that the latest free version of MactheRipper is getting on a bit now. Does it manage to do the latest releases?

Otherwise, yes this is a possibility until I can get a new machine.

DoFoT9
Aug 3, 2009, 04:16 AM
The problem is, is that the latest free version of MactheRipper is getting on a bit now. Does it manage to do the latest releases?

Otherwise, yes this is a possibility until I can get a new machine.

oh you dont have the Intel release of MTR?? i do ;) PM me! (it is a few years old also, but much faster then the crappy PPC version, it hasnt failed me at all yet).

Trivial rock
Aug 3, 2009, 04:22 AM
DoFoT9: by the sounds of it, he has ripped the film and not converted it / compressed it. When I owned an 8 core 2.8 MP it could rip a film very fast and compress it it 20 - 30+ minutes depending on length.

DoFoT9
Aug 3, 2009, 04:23 AM
DoFoT9: by the sounds of it, he has ripped the film and not converted it / compressed it. When I owned an 8 core 2.8 MP it could rip a film very fast and compress it it 20 - 30+ minutes depending on length.

yup good call, i would have to agree with you on that! was just making sure :rolleyes: *COUGH* lame excuse *COUGH*... haha..

still.. 30minutes is great! compared to my 3hrs on my MBP

Trivial rock
Aug 3, 2009, 04:31 AM
yup good call, i would have to agree with you on that! was just making sure :rolleyes: *COUGH* lame excuse *COUGH*... haha..

still.. 30minutes is great! compared to my 3hrs on my MBP

Yup thats my problem at the moment too, Im finding it such a drag to convert a film on my MBP 3hrs is crazy. If a older 2.66 quad MP will do it in 30 mins and I can pick one up on eBay for 1000 I think I may go for that option.

DoFoT9
Aug 3, 2009, 04:33 AM
Yup thats my problem at the moment too, Im finding it such a drag to convert a film on my MBP 3hrs is crazy. If a older 2.66 quad MP will do it in 30 mins and I can pick one up on eBay for 1000 I think I may go for that option.

yes that is insane! would be worth it, you could probably sell it off after you convert all the movies for the same price too lol..give it a week of solid converting and away it goes!

imagine how quickly the new octo would do it in.. 10minutes faster you reckon?

but yes, i am liking your idea.

Trivial rock
Aug 3, 2009, 04:45 AM
Its interesting to see that although my MBP is newer and the proc is faster the HB converting time is very similar. That shows that a new 2.66 iMac is unlikely to give much of a speed increase, and what we are really looking for is a quad core machine.

I would imagine the new 2.93 octo would be a very fast machine, however the price is a little astronomical (especially for handbrake and light video editing)!

DoFoT9
Aug 3, 2009, 04:49 AM
Its interesting to see that although my MBP is newer and the proc is faster the HB converting time is very similar. That shows that a new 2.66 iMac is unlikely to give much of a speed increase, and what we are really looking for is a quad core machine.

great point, i actually guessed my conversion time - i rarely use the 'universal' setting, but if yours is around 3hrs then mine would be at 4, my machine is an original CoreDuo MBP, there is quite a slow down!!

in reference to the iMac, there would not be much difference between that and the MBP, there CPU speeds are the same.. going to quad core would give you a very nice speed increase (anywhere from 30% up to 60% faster).

it would be interesting to see the difference between the 'top' 2006 MP quad core compared to a 2.93GHz 2009 MP quad core. see if the 'new' technologies make a difference.

Trivial rock
Aug 3, 2009, 04:53 AM
it would be interesting to see the difference between the 'top' 2006 MP quad core compared to a 2.93GHz 2009 MP quad core. see if the 'new' technologies make a difference.

Or perhaps the 2006 2.66 quad vs the 2009 2.66 quad MP. That would nicely show the architecture difference. Perhaps if an owner of a new 2.66 quad sees this thread would be kind enough to convert a dvd in handbrake using the apple universal preset we can see if there is much difference. (Purely for handbrake).

DoFoT9
Aug 3, 2009, 06:06 AM
Or perhaps the 2006 2.66 quad vs the 2009 2.66 quad MP. That would nicely show the architecture difference. Perhaps if an owner of a new 2.66 quad sees this thread would be kind enough to convert a dvd in handbrake using the apple universal preset we can see if there is much difference. (Purely for handbrake).

that would seem much more related to this thread! Nice choice, I sure hope somebody can chime in :)

Trivial rock
Aug 3, 2009, 06:40 AM
i rarely use the 'universal' setting, but if yours is around 3hrs then mine would be at 4, my machine is an original CoreDuo MBP, there is quite a slow down!!

Which settings do you use for your handbraking? Where / how do you watch your media? Just getting some ideas for optimizing my epic Handbrake run.

DoFoT9
Aug 3, 2009, 08:00 AM
Which settings do you use for your handbraking? Where / how do you watch your media? Just getting some ideas for optimizing my epic Handbrake run.

there are three ways i normally "convert" or rip my movies.

1. direct rips - this is becoming more common as i get fussier with the quality and become less concerned with the price of storage..
2. custom preset - set to around 69% constant and pass through audio, anamorphic resolution setting.
3. 4000kbps video, pass-through audio and similar visual settings to above.

i watch these on my 19" monitor hooked to my MBP, on my 42" LCD panasonic HD TV, on my gf's 47" panasonic plasma TV, and on my friends 50" pioneer plasma TV.. all are connected via a DVI->HDMI cable. the 4000kbps doesnt look anywhere near as good as the 69% setting version, which doesnt look as good as the complete rip.

its just a matter of choice, if you want to save space then you will go with the Universal setting of course, if not then rips are perfect :)

bed time for me, talk 2morrow!

rhett7660
Aug 3, 2009, 02:36 PM
As many others on these forums I am in the process of converting my very large DVD collection into a digital format. I use handbrake on the Apple Universal settings. Films look great on my 32" Philips 720p HD TV.

My problem is I owned a 2.8GHz 8 core MacPro for a few months. The plan was to sell my iMac and my MBP to fund it. I sold the iMac but the MBP wouldnt sell for a reasonable price so the MacPro had to go.

The MacPro would take 30-45 mins to do a film. My late 08 uMBP 2.4GHz takes ~ 3 hours. This is a real drag. Now although I cant afford a MP at the current time I can afford an iMac however is there going to be any great speed increase in the time it takes to rip a film? If there is not much difference then would there be much difference between my MacBook Pro and a Mac Mini?

If there was little difference between the MBP and Mac Mini then I could buy a mini, and just leave it to rip. I cant do this with my MBP because the fans need to be at 6200RPM to keep it at a nice cool 72C. All the time it is on my lap because I dont want to have to stop using it a 3 hours at a time while it rips DVDs! The MBP is my primary and only machine at the moment.

Another thought is, is there a better setting to rip with that will take less time but keep the quality the same?

Any thoughts much appreciated.
Triv


he is converting, not ripping.. ;)

Wouldn't this be the same as ripping? Taking a DVD and turing it into a playable format for say apple tv or ipod?

Eidorian
Aug 3, 2009, 02:41 PM
Wouldn't this be the same as ripping? Taking a DVD and turing it into a playable format for say apple tv or ipod?I've ripped several DVDs without ever converting them to another format (transcoding).

rhett7660
Aug 3, 2009, 03:41 PM
I've ripped several DVDs without ever converting them to another format (transcoding).

Hmmmm.. Ok. Maybe I am confused then. The OP was using the universal settings to rip into a digital format. Wouldn't this be taking your dvd and ripping it into say a mp4 format? Or am I missing something? Especially since the OP said digital format?

Unless he/she has found a way to rip it to iso or keep the TS folder structure?

Eidorian
Aug 3, 2009, 03:58 PM
Hmmmm.. Ok. Maybe I am confused then. The OP was using the universal settings to rip into a digital format. Wouldn't this be taking your dvd and ripping it into say a mp4 format? Or am I missing something? Especially since the OP said digital format? It's up to you if you want to transcode or not. Given that the OP wants to use Handbrake they do.

DoFoT9 already went over some options.


Unless he/she has found a way to rip it to iso or keep the TS folder structure?MacTheRipper, RipIt, and DVD Fab already do this.

rhett7660
Aug 3, 2009, 04:55 PM
I understand this... really I do.. I was responding to DoFoT9 remark of converting and ripping...

I also know the other programs you mentioned are capable of doing iso etc... however the specific question was to handbrake...... correct?

Another thought is, is there a better setting to rip with that will take less time but keep the quality the

And the OP wanted to know about about ripping. So my response was to DoFoT9........

Originally Posted by DoFoT9
he is converting, not ripping..

So that is why I asked about the ripping/converting.... :)

Trivial rock
Aug 3, 2009, 05:04 PM
Sorry for my confusing use of incorrect terminology. I am looking to encode a DVD using handbrake and the Apple Universal preset or similar.

I think the best suggestion was by xraydoc to buy on older 2.66 Mac Pro, if it can do what I wish in 30 mins or so then I'm happy. I am winning one on eBay at the moment.

Right now I have been ripping using MactheRipper to create a backlog in the day, I then use handbrake to encode the queue at night.

DoFoT9
Aug 3, 2009, 05:10 PM
so many replies!!

Wouldn't this be the same as ripping? Taking a DVD and turing it into a playable format for say apple tv or ipod?

ripping as i understand it is when you directly copy the disc onto your HD. e.g. using MTR or similar.

I've ripped several DVDs without ever converting them to another format (transcoding).

ahh thats what its called, transcoding.. thanks!

Hmmmm.. Ok. Maybe I am confused then. The OP was using the universal settings to rip into a digital format. Wouldn't this be taking your dvd and ripping it into say a mp4 format? Or am I missing something? Especially since the OP said digital format?

Unless he/she has found a way to rip it to iso or keep the TS folder structure?

the OP was interested in converting into the 'Universal' preset, he was ripping the DVDs to his HD so that he could create a backlog for overnight converting etc.

It's up to you if you want to transcode or not. Given that the OP wants to use Handbrake they do.

given that he wants to convert multiple movies at the same time that is..

DoFoT9 already went over some options.

that i did :) thats just my personal preference though.


Sorry for my confusing use of incorrect terminology. I am looking to encode a DVD using handbrake and the Apple Universal preset or similar.

I think the best suggestion was by xraydoc to buy on older 2.66 Mac Pro, if it can do what I wish in 30 mins or so then I'm happy. I am winning one on eBay at the moment.

Right now I have been ripping using MactheRipper to create a backlog in the day, I then use handbrake to encode the queue at night.

nice idea! that will get it going, poor MBP though! having to work so hard lol.. how big are the movies once finished?

I understand this... really I do.. I was responding to DoFoT9 remark of converting and ripping...

I also know the other programs you mentioned are capable of doing iso etc... however the specific question was to handbrake...... correct?

at that point in the conversation it was aimed at handbrake, i believe it was later on when the ripping option came into it..

And the OP wanted to know about about ripping. So my response was to DoFoT9........



a mistake on my behalf :p i hope its all cleared now :)

Trivial rock
Aug 3, 2009, 05:17 PM
I am thinking, if I dont win an older MacPro on eBay of eBaying my current MBP and buy a new MacPro from Apple before my student discoount runs out in Sept. I very rarely move my MBP around now I have graduated.

Any ideas how much my MBP (in sig) is worth. In please Im in the UK :D

rhett7660
Aug 3, 2009, 05:19 PM
:)so many replies!!



ripping as i understand it is when you directly copy the disc onto your HD. e.g. using MTR or similar.



ahh thats what its called, transcoding.. thanks!



the OP was interested in converting into the 'Universal' preset, he was ripping the DVDs to his HD so that he could create a backlog for overnight converting etc.



given that he wants to convert multiple movies at the same time that is..



that i did :) thats just my personal preference though.




nice idea! that will get it going, poor MBP though! having to work so hard lol.. how big are the movies once finished?



at that point in the conversation it was aimed at handbrake, i believe it was later on when the ripping option came into it..



a mistake on my behalf :p i hope its all cleared now :)

LOL.. thank you very much.......... All is good! :):)

Eidorian
Aug 3, 2009, 05:33 PM
Any ideas how much my MBP (in sig) is worth. In please Im in the UK :DCheck the refurbished prices.

Trivial rock
Aug 3, 2009, 05:39 PM
The refurb price is 1100, however I doubt that is what it will sell for on eBay. I guess I can expect 900 to 1000?

Eidorian
Aug 3, 2009, 06:23 PM
The refurb price is 1100, however I doubt that is what it will sell for on eBay. I guess I can expect 900 to 1000?Less than a refurb of course. You're on target.

I still think that keeping your notebook and just getting a Windows tower for transcoding would be better. Core 2 Quad is cheap.

mpshay
Aug 3, 2009, 07:38 PM
I still think that keeping your notebook and just getting a Windows tower for transcoding would be better. Core 2 Quad is cheap.

That is exactly what I did when all I had was my iMac. VNC'd into my quad core vista PC. Worked great for converting my DVD library to :apple:TV friendly format

Beric
Aug 3, 2009, 09:04 PM
I've got a custom-built Intel Core i7 920 rig with hyperthreading (a total of 8 threads) overclocked to 4 Ghz. Boy does it rip DVD's fast.

DoFoT9
Aug 3, 2009, 09:08 PM
I've got a custom-built Intel Core i7 920 rig with hyperthreading (a total of 8 threads) overclocked to 4 Ghz. Boy does it rip DVD's fast.

rip or transcode?? we already discussed this issue lol

ripping = copy VIDEO_TS to HD with no converting.

transcode = convert into .mp4, .avi etc...

:p

Eidorian
Aug 3, 2009, 09:18 PM
That is exactly what I did when all I had was my iMac. VNC'd into my quad core vista PC. Worked great for converting my DVD library to :apple:TV friendly formatYeah Handbrake under Windows works just the same. If that's all you're going to need heavy lifting for it's a great solution and easier on the wallet than a Mac Pro.