PDA

View Full Version : Apple Logic Pro and VST




rickboy
Aug 10, 2009, 07:13 AM
Does apple Logic Pro support the use of VST and DAW plug-ins? If not what does it support?



joe.cavers
Aug 10, 2009, 09:07 AM
I'm not sure what you mean by "DAW" plugins, but Logic works fine with VSTs and AUs.

JC

junior
Aug 10, 2009, 01:18 PM
I'm not sure what you mean by "DAW" plugins, but Logic works fine with VSTs and AUs.

JC

Nope.
Logic does not support VST. If someone really wants to use VST, they need to use a wrapper, such as the one made by FXpansion.
Otherwise it's audio unit only.

joe.cavers
Aug 10, 2009, 04:24 PM
Nope.
Logic does not support VST. If someone really wants to use VST, they need to use a wrapper, such as the one made by FXpansion.
Otherwise it's audio unit only.

Really?! Does that mean I was using Absynth 4 as an AU and not realising it?

That's what I get for not paying attention :(

JC

musio
Aug 11, 2009, 12:43 AM
literally a few threads below yours.........

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=208385

puppet
Sep 19, 2011, 07:35 PM
So can somebody give me the rundown of the different Logic (for mac) types of sound files available to us?

.gig files
.vst (must be for mac)

anything else?

muhammadsarmad
Mar 17, 2012, 08:55 AM
i was searching about free and professional vst plugins and found some good plugins
you can also check them out
http://fruityloopsfreedownload.blogspot.com/
http://blastingsound.blogspot.com

Papanate
Mar 17, 2012, 07:29 PM
So can somebody give me the rundown of the different Logic (for mac) types of sound files available to us?

.gig files
.vst (must be for mac)

anything else?

Sound File Formats are quite different than plug in type formats.
Mac Logic supports AU only for plugins.