PDA

View Full Version : Air reformat help.




Xirurg
Aug 15, 2009, 04:39 AM
Guys, can I use Leopard disk that came with other mac to reformat it or it should be specifically air's disk?

Thanks.



slapguts
Aug 15, 2009, 05:32 AM
You need the discs for the Air. The correct ones for you Rev. as well.

Apple can supply replacements.

macboy4
Aug 15, 2009, 08:28 AM
Guys, can I use Leopard disk that came with other mac to reformat it or it should be specifically air's disk?

Thanks.

I went through this last weekend. I tried to use Rev A disks with Rev B MBA and it would not recognize Leopard.

I have a theory (as yet uncorroborated) that you can use retail disks that are newer than the version of Mac you have, but you can't use disks from other computers.

SnowLeopard2008
Aug 15, 2009, 12:49 PM
I went through this last weekend. I tried to use Rev A disks with Rev B MBA and it would not recognize Leopard.

I have a theory (as yet uncorroborated) that you can use retail disks that are newer than the version of Mac you have, but you can't use disks from other computers.

Nope, theory is wrong. You can use a Leopard 10.5 (no incremental updates) on a MBA.