PDA

View Full Version : Apple TV Dissaster




GRuizMD
Aug 15, 2009, 09:41 PM
Laugh at this one:

I invite friends to come and see my brand new apple TV and to convince them on how good is to switch to Apple stuff.

Start up a movie and everything goes ok, but by the middle of the movie (ripped and streaming from iMac - seen before by me...) the ATV freezes and looses connection....

I try desperately to troubleshoot and even blame the rain or my friends cell phone to try and throw a smoke curtain until I Get things worked out...

But after unplugging my ATV... It disapears from iTunes to never come back...

I spent the rest of the night reinstalling itunes, ATV, going into forums while my PC friends laugh at my non working all-Mac-setup....

Ohhh boy....

ATV refuses to show up in itunes... It can access the network, download youtube stuff and watch trailers and It plays what it sync'ed, all this happen while watching a streamed movie.... NO changes were done, except unplugging the damn thing...


So anybody has any new tricks to fix this situation?

Some more data on my stuff

iMac connected wirelessly
Motorolla Modem/Wireless Router on Cable connection
No firewalls at all (I know, risky)
Wireless connection to ATV without any hacks on latest software version
iTunes 8.2 (latest version downloaded from Apple) -- Reinstalled
Movies on Ext Hard drive connected via FW to iMac
This setup has worked flawlessly for 2 months...
No changes were done, no downloads or new settings were changed here...

I Did the Ping test and it finds the ATV and pings it with no problems
I can set the ATV as speaker in iTunes and it connects... But still does not appear on devices list in iTunes



lamina
Aug 16, 2009, 10:29 AM
I'm sure you've checked here but...

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1453

Also reboot router.

aced411
Aug 16, 2009, 11:56 AM
That happened to me over and over. I was about ready to throw the :apple: TV out the window. I tried everything. In an act of desperation I replaced my Linksys router with an Airport Extreme. Never had a problem again.

uberamd
Aug 16, 2009, 11:59 AM
Laugh at this one:

I invite friends to come and see my brand new apple TV and to convince them on how good is to switch to Apple stuff.


I wouldn't necessarily use the Apple TV to convince my friends to move to Apple stuff, its a neglected hobby device.

stlredbird
Aug 16, 2009, 01:06 PM
I wouldn't necessarily use the Apple TV to convince my friends to move to Apple stuff, its a neglected hobby device.

definitely. Show them a macbook pro and watch them drool.

GRuizMD
Aug 16, 2009, 09:05 PM
definitely. Show them a macbook pro and watch them drool.

yeah, I showed them my wife's brand new MacBook Pro and my trusty Alu iMac... then I said... Lets watch a movie in my new toy the ATV....

GRuizMD
Aug 16, 2009, 09:06 PM
ahh btw, it was solved via a Reset to factory settings on the ATV... Not elegant, but is working right now....

GRuizMD
Aug 16, 2009, 09:09 PM
I wouldn't necessarily use the Apple TV to convince my friends to move to Apple stuff, its a neglected hobby device.

most definitely, its a shame I really love the concept... There is a lot of potential in this little device... I dont really wish for any other functions etc, just that it works as advertised...

GRuizMD
Aug 16, 2009, 09:11 PM
That happened to me over and over. I was about ready to throw the :apple: TV out the window. I tried everything. In an act of desperation I replaced my Linksys router with an Airport Extreme. Never had a problem again.

Sure thing, is on my list of things to consider buying... its so damn expensive.... I will have to read about it and see if it really solve my issues with needing to backup 2 different computers, and link a printer...

Shuttleworth
Aug 17, 2009, 07:31 AM
Sure thing, is on my list of things to consider buying... its so damn expensive.....

You know you don't need an AirPort Extreme to do this, an AirPort Express will do it too, all you need to do is turn off the wireless on your Router and connect the Express to the router with an Ethernet cable, you then connect to the network using the AirPort. You can still connect a printer to an Express too.

GRuizMD
Aug 17, 2009, 07:52 AM
You know you don't need an AirPort Extreme to do this, an AirPort Express will do it too, all you need to do is turn off the wireless on your Router and connect the Express to the router with an Ethernet cable, you then connect to the network using the AirPort. You can still connect a printer to an Express too.

Thanks... Thats a piece of info i did Not know...

Donar
Aug 17, 2009, 03:32 PM
... I will have to read about it and see if it really solve my issues with needing to backup 2 different computers...
If you think of using TimeMachine with an AirportExtreme + USB disk - this solution can be very s l o w, but it works.