PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong with my powerbook?




CJRhoades
Aug 16, 2009, 12:45 PM
Sometimes, this will randomly happen.
View My Video (http://tinypic.com/r/4jqp9v/3)
They only way to fix it is to shake the display until it stops.



MacModMachine
Aug 16, 2009, 12:56 PM
bad lcd cable to the logic board

its not the video card , possibly the lcd...but looks like just the cable.

CJRhoades
Aug 16, 2009, 12:59 PM
bad lcd cable to the logic board

its not the video card , possibly the lcd...but looks like just the cable.

Bad cable eh? How long do you think it'll last before it fails completely?

MacModMachine
Aug 16, 2009, 01:06 PM
depends, looks bad now.

it depends on how often you open and close the lid or have to make the problem go away.

you can prob grab a cable cheap from ifixit.com or ebay.

shouldent be a big job to do.

or you could buy a lcd and use it with the external lcd as a desktop and buy yourself a new one or refurb mac.

good luck

CJRhoades
Aug 16, 2009, 01:15 PM
depends, looks bad now.

it depends on how often you open and close the lid or have to make the problem go away.

you can prob grab a cable cheap from ifixit.com or ebay.

shouldent be a big job to do.

or you could buy a lcd and use it with the external lcd as a desktop and buy yourself a new one or refurb mac.

good luck

I only open and close it twice a day.

This laptop is literally falling apart. First the HDD died, then I couldn't pick it up without it turning off because the battery loses contact, then a stick of RAM failed, and now the display cable is going bad. All this over the course of a year.

I have a pretty powerful PC that I use for gaming but I want to keep this Mac in good shape because it's my only one. But I'm afraid that soon enough, the logic board or something else that's more expensive to fix than the computer is worth will fail.

MacModMachine
Aug 16, 2009, 01:37 PM
I only open and close it twice a day.

This laptop is literally falling apart. First the HDD died, then I couldn't pick it up without it turning off because the battery loses contact, then a stick of RAM failed, and now the display cable is going bad. All this over the course of a year.

I have a pretty powerful PC that I use for gaming but I want to keep this Mac in good shape because it's my only one. But I'm afraid that soon enough, the logic board or something else that's more expensive to fix than the computer is worth will fail.

overhaul the beast

for a 150 or so you could make that into a machine to last for couple more years.

disassemble it and reassemble it with a new hdd , lcd ribbon , replace the thermal paste , max the ram and retighten the insides.

that will give you a longer runtime and make it better.

just and idea.

CJRhoades
Aug 16, 2009, 01:45 PM
overhaul the beast

for a 150 or so you could make that into a machine to last for couple more years.

disassemble it and reassemble it with a new hdd , lcd ribbon , replace the thermal paste , max the ram and retighten the insides.

that will give you a longer runtime and make it better.

just and idea.

I threw in a 250GB 5400 RPM HDD already. And the RAM is already maxed out at 1GB. I want to replace the thermal paste but I don't have a torx t-8 screwdriver thats required to open it up. I went to my local hardware stores but the smallest they have is a torx t-10.

MacModMachine
Aug 16, 2009, 01:47 PM
I threw in a 250GB 5400 RPM HDD already. And the RAM is already maxed out at 1GB. I want to replace the thermal paste but I don't have a torx t-8 screwdriver thats required to open it up. I went to my local hardware stores but the smallest they have is a torx t-10.

there easy to get online cheap

i bought A multi torx unit for 8$ + 5 shipping.

has all the odd sizes. 7,8,10,11.

nice tool. if you want a link i can get you one.

mmm

Andrew Henry
Aug 16, 2009, 01:53 PM
I threw in a 250GB 5400 RPM HDD already. And the RAM is already maxed out at 1GB. I want to replace the thermal paste but I don't have a torx t-8 screwdriver thats required to open it up. I went to my local hardware stores but the smallest they have is a torx t-10.

If you have a Lowes nearby the carry them, unfortunately I know this for a fact as I had to find out a couple nights ago!

CJRhoades
Aug 16, 2009, 01:56 PM
there easy to get online cheap

i bought A multi torx unit for 8$ + 5 shipping.

has all the odd sizes. 7,8,10,11.

nice tool. if you want a link i can get you one.

mmm

A link would be great.