PDA

View Full Version : Do you need an HD TV for Apple TV?




nickhutson
Aug 22, 2009, 05:45 AM
I would rather like to get Apple TV, but I don't have an HD capable TV - just a CRT TV with normal (some would say old fashioned) scart connectivity.

Is the only option with Apple TV via an HDMI connection? Pretty limiting if the answer's yes... and not a good incentive to buy!



Shuttleworth
Aug 22, 2009, 06:06 AM
The answer is yes (kind of) It is limiting unless you look at all the new TV;'s being sold, which have HDMI at least, and most also have component. Apple probably just didn't want to start having to support outdated technology, and a big ugly SCART plug would have made a mess of the aesthetics!

Apparently you can do it through composite however:
http://www.appletvhacks.net/2007/10/12/get-color-output-from-apple-tvs-composite-video-output/

zedsdead
Aug 22, 2009, 06:19 AM
As long as the TV has a Component Video Connection (some SDTV's have this), it will work. Know that it will not be in HD though.

randy98mtu
Aug 22, 2009, 09:12 AM
I just hooked one up to my father-in-law's old Mitsubishi set. It has a single HD input in component only, then 2 480p component inputs. He was going to get a component switcher after I left to get HD through the ATV as well.

daferrisda
Aug 22, 2009, 03:07 PM
There are devices out there but there so expensive, found these http://www.keene.co.uk/electronics/multi.php?mycode=vs223

http://www.lektropacks.com/view_product_standard.php?product=1001234&department=2&sub1=17&show=53

leomac08
Aug 22, 2009, 03:45 PM
Yeah, i under stand you. and yes you can use a normal SD TV


I have a LCD HDTV LG 22'', with 720p capabilities, but I just can't afford the HDMI cable, it's like $30- to sometimes i have seen $99!!!!!!!!!!:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

so umma save money!

Anonymous Freak
Aug 22, 2009, 03:54 PM
The answer from Apple is "you need a TV capable of 480i component or HDMI input, wide-screen."

The actual answer is "If you're willing to muck around with funky cables and undocumented options on the AppleTV: YES!"

http://www.thecheapgeek.org/2009/03/24/161/

You do need an HDMI-to-VGA adapter to make it work; (or an HDMI-to-DVI-I, plus a DVI-to-VGA,) but you only need it for initial setup; so it can be borrowed (and you don't even plug them in to anything; just the adapters.) First, if you plug an AppleTV in to a composite TV, you will get a 'squished' (meant for wide-screen) black and white picture; but it will work, right out of the box. After you mess with some settings; and plug and unplug the adapters, you'll get proper aspect ratio, and color.

Dobbs2
Aug 22, 2009, 03:54 PM
Yeah, i under stand you. and yes you can use a normal SD TV


I have a LCD HDTV LG 22'', with 720p capabilities, but I just can't afford the HDMI cable, it's like $30- to sometimes i have seen $99!!!!!!!!!!:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

so umma save money!

You can go to monoprice and pick one up for about $5. Hdmi is hdmi.

leomac08
Aug 22, 2009, 04:05 PM
You can go to monoprice and pick one up for about $5. Hdmi is hdmi.

Thanks!! i didn't know that!,:) but the nearest monoprice to me is 60 miles away!

Are they any cheap ones in Best Buy, or Fry's Electronics? (a specific brand)? any suggestions?

11800506
Aug 22, 2009, 07:17 PM
Thanks!! i didn't know that!,:) but the nearest monoprice to me is 60 miles away!

Are they any cheap ones in Best Buy, or Fry's Electronics? (a specific brand)? any suggestions?

Monoprice.com (http://monoprice.com) would also work...

Dobbs2
Aug 24, 2009, 12:21 AM
Thanks!! i didn't know that!,:) but the nearest monoprice to me is 60 miles away!

Are they any cheap ones in Best Buy, or Fry's Electronics? (a specific brand)? any suggestions?

I didn't know monoprice had actual retail stores. I meant monoprice.com