PDA

View Full Version : Those pesky subtitles




pprior
Aug 28, 2009, 09:32 AM
For the life of me I can't figure out how to get subtitles to work on the aTV.

I am using ripit currently to get a dvd image.

I then use handbrake to encode using the appleTV preset

What I -want- is the typical subtitles (i.e. they are speaking a foreign language for a few minutes and the subtitles will pop up to let you know what they are saying), I do NOT want subtitles for normal dialogue.

I can't figure out the right setttings to make this happen and I see no way on the appleTV to toggle them on/off.

Any help?



uraniumwilly
Aug 28, 2009, 09:37 AM
FWIW: I use the audio and subtitles config in Handbrake.

pprior
Aug 28, 2009, 10:12 AM
FWIW: I use the audio and subtitles config in Handbrake.

Can you tell me specifically what settings in the subtitles boxes that you enable?

Acidglaze
Aug 28, 2009, 11:31 AM
Can you tell me specifically what settings in the subtitles boxes that you enable?

I believe the option is called "enable forced subtitles". They're the subs pushed through when a foreign language is spoken. This has to be selected when you do your encoding in Handbrake though, so you may have to re-do your movie in handbrake.

dynaflash
Aug 28, 2009, 11:35 AM
provided the dvd was mastered with forced subtitles flagged, some will use a totally separate subtitle track for just the forced subtitles.

Dougr
Aug 28, 2009, 03:25 PM
I have yet to get the forced subtitle option to work. I find most dvds have two subtitle tracks, one for complete subtitles and one for just the non English sections, you just have to play around a little to find out which one to use.

I just wish I could work out how to change the font from the awful default one Handbrake uses.

dynaflash
Aug 28, 2009, 04:38 PM
Get the latest dev snapshot, subtitle support is much enhanced.

eddyg
Aug 28, 2009, 06:06 PM
I have yet to get the forced subtitle option to work. I find most dvds have two subtitle tracks, one for complete subtitles and one for just the non English sections, you just have to play around a little to find out which one to use.

I just wish I could work out how to change the font from the awful default one Handbrake uses.

HandBrake does not have any fonts. The subtitles are bitmaps on the DVD which HamdBrake overlays and burns into the video.

Also, use autoselect AND forced to automatically detect an burn in subs for foreign language segments. Works for most DVDs.

Even if you are using the new snapshot and soft subs it is the device that renders the fonts.

Cheers Ed.
Cheers Ed.

Dougr
Aug 29, 2009, 08:23 AM
Thanks Ed, I don't know what I am doing wrong but on my handbrake rips the subtitles are twice the size of those shown when playing the original dvd and usually bright yellow instead of white. I will try ripping some the way you suggest to see if that makes a difference.

PS: sorry OP didn't mean to hijack your thread.

eddyg
Aug 29, 2009, 02:13 PM
Thanks Ed, I don't know what I am doing wrong but on my handbrake rips the subtitles are twice the size of those shown when playing the original dvd and usually bright yellow instead of white. I will try ripping some the way you suggest to see if that makes a difference.

PS: sorry OP didn't mean to hijack your thread.

The vobsubs on the DVD are cropped and repositioned on the cropped video, this may make them appear bigger. I'm pretty sure the colours are correct for the vobsubs. Have you tried different DVD players?

I haven't done a side by side comparison checking the size, I guess I should. I did do that for the colour though.

Cheers Ed.

pprior
Aug 29, 2009, 03:19 PM
Even if you are using the new snapshot and soft subs it is the device that renders the fonts.

Cheers Ed.
Cheers Ed.


I'm confused by this. Specifically for the apple tv - how do you enable or disable subtitles within the device if it's the device that is controlling them?

I thought the alternate subtitles (foreign language,etc) were optional but for example an english movie they start speaking spanish and there are always subtitles below for that small section of the movie only - are you saying those also have to be displayed by the device?

Confusing to me, sorry.

eddyg
Aug 30, 2009, 06:23 AM
I'm confused by this. Specifically for the apple tv - how do you enable or disable subtitles within the device if it's the device that is controlling them?

Press and hold the select button and choose the subtitle language, same as for selecting different audio tracks. This of course only works if you have added soft subtitle tracks to your mp4 - which if encoded using HB can only be from closed captions or an external SRT file since the subs must be in text, and all subs on a DVD are pictures.



I thought the alternate subtitles (foreign language,etc) were optional but for example an english movie they start speaking spanish and there are always subtitles below for that small section of the movie only - are you saying those also have to be displayed by the device?

Confusing to me, sorry.

they are in vobsub format which HB will detect and burn on to the video - ie you can't turn them on and off any more.

Cheers Ed.