PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ever order from Mac Fanatic?




PieMac
Jun 30, 2004, 01:28 PM
I came across this site (http://www.macfanaticshop.com) yesterday and their prices are exceptional. Just wondering if anyone has had any first hand experience with ordering from them.



jsw
Jun 30, 2004, 01:35 PM
I can't find the threads right now (at work, stuff to do), but this rings a bell. Search the forum for it.

My memory is that this is a scam. Please beware.

jsw
Jun 30, 2004, 01:37 PM
Checked out the prices. This is surely a scam. If it wasn't, you'd see a million posts here on how great it is to get such a huge discount.

I still can't find the appropriate threads (someone, I'm sure, can help here).

But do not buy from this place.

PieMac
Jun 30, 2004, 01:38 PM
I can't find the threads right now (at work, stuff to do), but this rings a bell. Search the forum for it.

My memory is that this is a scam. Please beware.

I did a search but nothing came up...will try again. They say that they're a "family owned" business that's been in operation since 1997. Looks can be deceiving though...I do know this from experience (unfortunately).

jsw
Jun 30, 2004, 01:41 PM
Check out this thread (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=41856). It talks about Mac Fanatic, but you need to read into the thread quite a ways.

Edit:

start at the end of the thread and work back.

macfanaticshop.com is a scam. Confirmed. Also, a rip-off of macfanatic.com, which apparently doesn't do anything yet anyway.

keysersoze
Jun 30, 2004, 01:45 PM
I did a search but nothing came up...will try again. They say that they're a "family owned" business that's been in operation since 1997. Looks can be deceiving though...I do know this from experience (unfortunately).

Smells like Mac Whiz....


:confused:


Check this thread. It will scare the hoozie out of you.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=41856&highlight=scam+mac

jemeinc
Jun 30, 2004, 01:57 PM
Smells like Mac Whiz....


:confused:


Check this thread. It will scare the hoozie out of you.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=41856&highlight=scam+mac


That's exactly who it is... I can't believe they can't nail this guy... Don't give him any of your hard earned cash !!! He's robbed enough people over the YEARS— that's right YEARS... It's a shame for the people who have been taken- Be careful people...

PieMac
Jun 30, 2004, 02:18 PM
Wow...just finished reading the suggested thread. Just goes to show you...prices like that are almost always too good to be true. I can't believe how much this asshole has gotten away with. Check out this press release (http://www.prweb.com/releases/2004/6/prwebxml134781.php) that I came across. He does everything to <i>appear</i> legit. Thanks everyone...what a great community!

invaLPsion
Jun 30, 2004, 02:33 PM
DO NOT BUY FROM MAC FANATIC. IT IS A SCAM. IT IS THE SAME GUY FROM MAC WHIZ!