PDA

View Full Version : Genius Problems




supermac1
Sep 9, 2009, 05:58 PM
When i try to turn on genius and upload my info to itunes, it keeps saying there is a connection problem with itunes. Anyone else having this problem?



Surely
Sep 9, 2009, 05:59 PM
I didn't have that problem, but if everyone is trying to connect at the same time, it wouldn't surprise me if Apple's servers are overloaded.

supermac1
Sep 9, 2009, 06:17 PM
Ugh. I just tried it on my sisters computer and it worked quickly. Now i dont know what to do.

Surely
Sep 9, 2009, 06:32 PM
Try quitting iTunes and restarting it. Then try Genius again.

supermac1
Sep 9, 2009, 07:14 PM
Try quitting iTunes and restarting it. Then try Genius again.

Tried several times. Doesnít help.

tylerscottd
Sep 9, 2009, 07:22 PM
Same problem here, donít know what to doÖ

ipedro
Sep 9, 2009, 07:29 PM
I have the same issue. I quit iTunes, restarted the Mac, went through the process of turning off the Genius and then turning it back on... I still get the message:

We could not complete your iTunes Store request.
The network connection was lost.

ipedro
Sep 9, 2009, 11:00 PM
I found a fix.

Quit iTunes, then Delete the iTunes Library Genius.itdb file in the parent iTunes folder.

When you go back into iTunes, follow the regular procedure to enable Genius and it works.

tylerscottd
Sep 9, 2009, 11:16 PM
I found a fix.

Quit iTunes, then Delete the iTunes Library Genius.itdb file in the parent iTunes folder.

When you go back into iTunes, follow the regular procedure to enable Genius and it works.

Just tried this, unfortunately still doesnít seem to be working for me :confused:

ipedro
Sep 9, 2009, 11:28 PM
Yeah, false alarm :(

What it did was allow iTunes to gather information about your library which delayed the error message for a while. The problem happens when iTunes tries to send the results to Apple.

I'm calling AppleCare in the morning to troubleshoot this.

tylerscottd
Sep 9, 2009, 11:34 PM
I'm calling AppleCare in the morning to troubleshoot this.

Report back with what they say, if you donít mind? :o

ipedro
Sep 9, 2009, 11:37 PM
Damn it! That was a tough cookie to crack!

Cookies!! Quit iTunes then go to your /user/library folder and move the Cookies folder to the desktop or delete it.

Turn on Genius. It works!

There must be some weird setting saved in cookies with an incorrect URL to send the info to Apple.

tylerscottd
Sep 9, 2009, 11:46 PM
Finally! It works

Although I noticed that if I had Safari open while I did this it didnít seem to have an effect (might just be something with my Mac though)

cosmokanga2
Sep 10, 2009, 12:06 AM
Finally! It works

Although I noticed that if I had Safari open while I did this it didnít seem to have an effect (might just be something with my Mac though)

Works! Thanks a zillion.

pardthemonster
Sep 11, 2009, 05:07 PM
Damn it! That was a tough cookie to crack!

Cookies!! Quit iTunes then go to your /user/library folder and move the Cookies folder to the desktop or delete it.

Turn on Genius. It works!

There must be some weird setting saved in cookies with an incorrect URL to send the info to Apple.

You could have found this solution at Apple's Discussion Board quicker: http://discussions.apple.com/message.jspa?messageID=10167163#10167163

ricfactor
Oct 10, 2009, 11:20 AM
If you don't want to blow away all of your cookies, just open Safari's preferences, and under the Security tab click the Show Cookies button. Search iTune and remove that cookie. This worked for me.