PDA

View Full Version : Extremely Low signal with Airport Extreme


rapps
Jul 6, 2004, 05:33 PM
Hi,
I just installed my airport extreme and got it up and running, however, the signal is horribly weak. I have a thinkpad that shows about an 80% signal and when running macstumbler the ibook is showing about 20% signal. I have a siemens wireless router that is providing for about 4 wireless computers plus the ibook. The others have great signals....anyone have an advice as to why the signal is so low on the ibook?

Thanks.

btw...I'm runnung software 3.3b1.

jackieonasses
Jul 6, 2004, 05:39 PM
sounds stupid but check the antenna or however you spell it!

rapps
Jul 6, 2004, 05:40 PM
At first that was my problem!! I had to press it in really hard. I believe it is tight and securely in.....I hope!!

BUT....it is still extremely weak.

any other ideas?

Sayer
Jul 6, 2004, 06:24 PM
First make sure your AirPort Express software is completely up to date. Run Software Update (second item under the Apple menu) and install the appropriate AirPort software.

You could also use the base station's configuration utility to change channels and see if that helps with reception.

rapps
Jul 6, 2004, 06:27 PM
Does anyone know if the most recent update is ok to use? I read that there were problems with 3.4 and not to load it.

Also...can I switch channels with the base station utility if I'm using a siemens router? I'm on channel 11 now....is there any particular channel I should use?

rapps
Jul 6, 2004, 08:47 PM
I've solved my problem!! I had to really really push the antennea into the card. I thought it was in good....but it really went further in. Maybe you are smarter than me....but I thought it was in the first time...but it wasn't!! Give it a shot.
Thanks.

Pansofos
Jul 7, 2004, 01:07 PM
I recently received a WGT624 Netgear router and an airport extreme card for my ibook. I also have access to a Dell (yuck) with a card for the router. Now I have pushed the antenna all the way into the card and I get a reasonable distance, but the Dell can get all the way to the farthest corner of my house when he router is set for g and b (it is capable of 108mbps) is there any specific reason why the Extreme card can't do the same if they both can run at 54 mbps?