PDA

View Full Version : G5 or not?

percyg23
Sep 21, 2009, 09:12 PM
Hello all, I am thinking about buying a used G5 specs = Dual 2.5Ghz processor
3GB RAM
800 GB internal Hard drive
Tiger 10.4.7 OS
Loaded with Protools (hardware not included), Maya, Carrera, Logic, Final Cut apps, Photoshop, Microsoft Office, Toast Titanium, Reason, Soundsoap and Peak LE. Waves Gold plug-in bundle (ilok not included), Aperture. I own a mac mini 1.83 already and I am running snow leopard on it, I am wondering if the G5 would be able to run snow leopard and whatever else I want to run? I only ask because I am still kind of new to the mac world and I would like to know if I would need to upgrade or just buy a iMac like I really want. i wanted to get an iMac then save and get a mac pro but I dont have the funds and the G5 is a good price for the specs, thanks for reading.

rowsdower
Sep 21, 2009, 09:21 PM
I am wondering if the G5 would be able to run snow leopard and whatever else I want to run?

The G5 will not be able to run Snow Leopard (10.6). The software you need may run under Leopard (10.5), which the G5 will run.

sigmadog
Sep 21, 2009, 10:52 PM
If it's liquid-cooled, I'd avoid it like the plague. I didn't trust liquid-cooled G5's when they were new, and I'd never trust them used. I've heard bad things with regard to leaks and such. I can't remember if the 2.5 was liquid or air cooled. You should check that.

Otherwise, if the price is good, then go for it. Like rowsdower said, you won't be able to run Snow Leopard (10.6), but Leopard (10.5) runs fine on G5's.

OrangeSVTguy
Sep 21, 2009, 11:31 PM
If it's $400 or less, then it's a good bang for buck Mac. As said, Snow Leopard is Intel only so it won't run on the G5.

Only the dual processor 2.5/2.7 and quad(dual processor/dual core) 2.5 were liquid cooled. Best to find a dual-core 2.3 model as that was aircooled and uses the cheaper DDR2 and PCI-E graphics.