PDA

View Full Version : What format and video codec for ripping TV Shows? [Handbrake]




rgarjr
Sep 22, 2009, 03:09 PM
I'm going to rip 3 TV shows off my DVD disc using Handbrake.

Which Format and Video Codec should I utilize?



TwinCities Dan
Sep 22, 2009, 03:11 PM
Just use the presets? :confused:

What devices are you going to be using them on?

rgarjr
Sep 22, 2009, 03:15 PM
mac mini on plex

spice weasel
Sep 22, 2009, 03:33 PM
For the most compatibility with iPods and iPhones, use the Universal preset. If you don't think you'll ever want to transfer your media to one of those devices, the Apple TV preset will result in slightly smaller file sizes for the same quality.

roidy
Sep 23, 2009, 07:09 AM
If your only ever gonna use them on your mac mini and plex then why not use one of the high profile presets such as Television or Film. This will enable features that the AppleTV dosn't support and should give a better encode.

DoFoT9
Sep 23, 2009, 07:12 AM
you will use the m4v container which uses the mpeg4 (h.264) codec.