PDA

View Full Version : Run both XP and Snow Leopard simultaneously?




Lolsing
Oct 1, 2009, 08:57 AM
Hi!

I bought my Mac a few weeks ago, and now I have successfully installed Windows XP with Bootcamp. But what my question is, if it is possible to run both operating systems simultaneously without having to shut down computer and hold down alt to choose. For example, I want to be able to just press a key when I am in Snow Leopard, and it should take me to XP. And of course from XP to Snow Leopard, while I still run programs on the computer. Is this possible?



edesignuk
Oct 1, 2009, 08:59 AM
You have to run Windows in a virtual environment.

Google Parallels Desktop or VMWare Fusion. Both these products do the job.

Hilmi Hamidi
Oct 1, 2009, 09:02 AM
Yes you can. It's called virtualization.
Google Parallels and VMWare Fusion for more info.

Hilmi Hamidi
Oct 1, 2009, 09:03 AM
Oh jeez, somone beat me to it. Oh well.

zenoran
Oct 1, 2009, 09:31 AM
dont forget virtualbox it's free :)

Lolsing
Oct 1, 2009, 10:08 AM
Thanks for the fast replies!

I downloaded VirtualBox and installed it. But is there no way for me to use my bootcamped windows partition instead of creating a new virtual one?

zenoran
Oct 1, 2009, 10:19 AM
Thanks for the fast replies!

I downloaded VirtualBox and installed it. But is there no way for me to use my bootcamped windows partition instead of creating a new virtual one?

nope... VM's use a different set of "virtual hardware" whereas bootcamp uses your physical hardware.

edesignuk
Oct 1, 2009, 10:21 AM
I downloaded VirtualBox and installed it. But is there no way for me to use my bootcamped windows partition instead of creating a new virtual one?
I think Parallels and Fusion can do this...no idea about VirtualBox though.

Darth.Titan
Oct 1, 2009, 10:46 AM
I think Parallels and Fusion can do this...no idea about VirtualBox though.

That is correct. Both VMWare and Parallels can use the Bootcamp partition as a virtual machine. Virtualbox however, cannot do this.

zenoran
Oct 1, 2009, 11:18 AM
That is correct. Both VMWare and Parallels can use the Bootcamp partition as a virtual machine. Virtualbox however, cannot do this.

oh wow that's cool... didn't know that!

zenoran
Oct 1, 2009, 01:28 PM
oh wow that's cool... didn't know that!

so I've been trying to do some research on this but I can't seem to find anything that says you can run the same windows operating system from boot camp and paralells?

anyone have some documentation or experience to back that up? that would be the icing on the cake for me to purchase parallels but I find it a little confusing as to how it would handle the difference in hardware between bootcamp and a VM.

thanks :)

MacRumorUser
Oct 1, 2009, 02:13 PM
so I've been trying to do some research on this but I can't seem to find anything that says you can run the same windows operating system from boot camp and paralells?

anyone have some documentation or experience to back that up? that would be the icing on the cake for me to purchase parallels but I find it a little confusing as to how it would handle the difference in hardware between bootcamp and a VM.

thanks :)

Yes you can and have been able to do so for a LONG time.

Just download the trial of parallels and try it for yourself if you need proof of the pudding.

Parallels basically installs parallels tools so that when it's in the VM state it uses parallels drivers.

As soon as you boot back with bootcamp, the full bootcamp drivers are used once more.

That's all there is to it. Simple as.

mpuck972
Oct 1, 2009, 02:23 PM
Running in a virtual mode via either Parallels or VM will restrict you to only being able to use half the systems memory and processor right?

Like if you have 4gb of memory, when you are running virtually you will only be able to access 2gb for each OS.