PDA

View Full Version : software overcloking a g5?


Mord
Jul 14, 2004, 12:57 PM
i use a little kernal patch called icook and I know that the g5's have the same technology thats in the 750fx that my ibook has (i think it's called speedstep or somthing like that) and i'm wandering if anyone has tryed to use it on there g5?
for a dual 1.8 the smallest step would be 450MHz up (changeing the multiplyer from 2 to 2.5) that would push it to 2.25 which is probably too much.

and for the 1.6 you could pust it to 2.0 (still a bit to high)

is anyone willing to try?

http://www.swieskowski.net/icook/

jared_kipe
Jul 14, 2004, 01:00 PM
Yeah, we were talking about this, I do wonder who will try...

Sun Baked
Jul 14, 2004, 01:03 PM
i use a little kernal patch called icook and I know that the g5's have the same technology thats in the 750fx that my ibook has (i think it's called speedstep or somthing like that) and i'm wandering if anyone has tryed to use it on there g5?
for a dual 1.8 the smallest step would be 450MHz up (changeing the multiplyer from 2 to 2.5) that would push it to 2.25 which is probably too much.

and for the 1.6 you could pust it to 2.0 (still a bit to high)

is anyone willing to try?

http://www.swieskowski.net/icook/The multiplier is 1x, 2x, 3x, etc. -- whole numbers only.

Mord
Jul 14, 2004, 04:09 PM
The multiplier is 1x, 2x, 3x, etc. -- whole numbers only.

where did you get the info from?

hmm mabey with a good watercooling set voltage tweaks and a peltier we could get to 3GHz with a dual 2GHz g5?

Dreadnought
Jul 14, 2004, 04:13 PM
hmmm, interesting.... well, my dual 1.8 is ready for the task, thank god I still have my B&W as a backup... (hope I don't need it)

Dreadnought
Jul 14, 2004, 04:16 PM
hmmm, iCook can only go till 1200 mhz... to bad.

MacsRgr8
Jul 14, 2004, 04:20 PM
hmmm, iCook can only go till 1200 mhz... to bad.

You're a bold man.... :)

Fender2112
Jul 14, 2004, 04:24 PM
I'm one of the top 50 folders for our MacRumors folding@home team and I dare you to fold with us and catch up with me if you can!


I'm at 35. Catch me if you can. ;)

Sun Baked
Jul 14, 2004, 04:30 PM
where did you get the info from?

hmm mabey with a good watercooling set voltage tweaks and a peltier we could get to 3GHz with a dual 2GHz g5?Was in one on the PPC970 brochures from IBM concerning the FSB multiplier, of course IBM has done some housecleaning since then.

Mord
Jul 14, 2004, 05:53 PM
hmmm, iCook can only go till 1200 mhz... to bad.

have you actually tryed it because i suspect that the 1200MHz limit is a limit of the chip muliplyer not the software

jared_kipe
Jul 14, 2004, 06:27 PM
well I tried it and it wouldn't run, the website says, "If this fails you probably do not have a 750FX CPU." Guess I don't have a 750FX

Crikey
Jul 14, 2004, 06:52 PM
Wow! That's nuts. If I owned a G5, I wouldn't risk it on an overclocking experiment. I think a dual G5 would be "fast enough" for my uses.

Thanks for telling us about the results of the experiment, though!


Crikey

Mord
Jul 15, 2004, 05:10 AM
well the developer is on my ichat list now, so i'll have a word with him.

it might be because when the g5 lows down or speeds up it changes the pci multiplyer instead of the system bus multiplyer because makeing a 1GHz jump on the dual 2GHZ g5 wou;d be silly.

i'll see what the guy thinks

Nermal
Jul 15, 2004, 06:08 AM
I'm at 35. Catch me if you can. ;)

I'm at 532 :eek: :p

Sun Baked
Jul 15, 2004, 07:54 AM
It would be nice to see the technical reference on the PPC970, but I haven't seen any of that info surface yet.