PDA

View Full Version : wireless for me a and a pc


Butler Trumpet
Jul 15, 2004, 12:41 AM
So i set up my linksys wireless router a few days ago.. its going great. now my new roommate moves in, he has a pc, and cant get it to connect wirelessly. He can connect with a direct connection(wire) fine though. What does he need to do?
Thanks

stoid
Jul 15, 2004, 12:44 AM
Buy a Mac! :D












Seriously though, call your ISP (or if you are on campus, your tech administrator). The problems I've had of that nature were quickly solved by a tech support phone call

Butler Trumpet
Jul 15, 2004, 12:46 AM
Buy a Mac! :D

yeah he should get a mac... that would make things way easier... mine set up great.. why? because macs rule.

Timelessblur
Jul 15, 2004, 12:58 AM
welll he may need to check his setting. Also you need to check you router setting. You may of lock down the wireless network with out knowing about it. It may be set to be an invible network or something. Try reseting the router and see what happens.

Dr. Dastardly
Jul 15, 2004, 01:04 AM
It's funny, this is almost exactly how I switched. My girlfriend had a Vaio and it took me seriously two weeks to get it working with our wireless network without losing the connection every five seconds. I bought her an ibook as a sort of experiment, and got the damn thing connected in literally 5 minutes. Needless to say I switched after that.

And she swears that she will never use Windows again. :D :eek: