PDA

View Full Version : Is it here yet?




Morrison23j
Jul 21, 2004, 01:05 AM
I just ordered my 15" powerbook last night and I find myself constantly looking to see if they shipped it yet. No I just checked again and it still has not shipped. The waiting is aweful. I cant wait to see the delivery man pull up. Anyway's I chose two day shipping, so when should I expect it I bought it a 1:23 am last night. I hope to have it by the weekend. By the way here is what I got.



15.2 inch display
1.33GHz PowerPC G4 w/64MB VRAM
512MB DDR333
60GB Ultra ATA
Combo Drive
Country Kit/AirPort Extreme
BkLit Keyboard

I decided not to get the superdrive because I'm only going to be burning dvd's at home and for 180 dollars(edu dis.) I can get a better external that can do RW's as well. By the way this is my first mac. My family has been proud, that's right proud PC users. I'm going against my whole family. They said get a dell its cheaper( yeah cheaply made).



OziMac
Jul 21, 2004, 01:21 AM
Haha Morrison,

Looks like you're suffering from 'order-status-itis', a terrible affliction that renders the subject almost useless and vacant until the page is updated... the common symptom of all sufferers is, in the words of artists more eloquent than I, that 'the waiting drove me mad...'

I don't blame you at all - here I am sitting at work waiting for the order status on my iPod Mini (surely any day now!) and iPod to update - even though they probably won't for a few days. When I ordered my Powerbook last month, the whole process only took a week for the package to arrive but everyday I sat waiting checking the page - you can't let it roam inside your head ;)

Congratulations on the buy - you'll love it! And I'm sure it'll be there soon enough - hopefully you won't be a mess when it arrives :)

aphexist
Jul 21, 2004, 01:24 AM
It looks like you selected some customized options, so they will have to "build" your PB.

I would not expect it for the weekend.

sushi
Jul 21, 2004, 01:26 AM
I just ordered my 15" powerbook last night and I find myself constantly looking to see if they shipped it yet. No I just checked again and it still has not shipped. The waiting is aweful. I cant wait to see the delivery man pull up. Anyway's I chose two day shipping, so when should I expect it I bought it a 1:23 am last night. I hope to have it by the weekend. By the way here is what I got.



15.2 inch display
1.33GHz PowerPC G4 w/64MB VRAM
512MB DDR333
60GB Ultra ATA
Combo Drive
Country Kit/AirPort Extreme
BkLit Keyboard

I decided not to get the superdrive because I'm only going to be burning dvd's at home and for 180 dollars(edu dis.) I can get a better external that can do RW's as well. By the way this is my first mac. My family has been proud, that's right proud PC users. I'm going against my whole family. They said get a dell its cheaper( yeah cheaply made).
Congrats!

I know that it is a hard move being the first Mac user in a group of devoted PC users.

Welcome to the fold!

Sushi

iBert
Jul 21, 2004, 01:28 AM
I went thru the same thing when I got my PowerBook 12" last xmas. And now yet again I find my self the same way. Still need to pay for my new G5 that I just bought yesterday. But man I can't wait to open it and start using it. Bought it from someone online, will be paying with escrowse.com service. i like the idea they have seems pretty good. Anyone used it before? Any input will be appreciated and I'll say something after I'm done with this deal.

Koree
Jul 21, 2004, 07:11 AM

Morrison23j
Jul 21, 2004, 10:01 AM
Thanks all for the information.

atszyman
Jul 21, 2004, 10:59 AM
FYI, it appears that 2-day shipments in the U.S. get picked up by FedEx around 11:00 p.m. PST. So any FedEx tracking information will probably not be available until then. This may help keep your refreshing of the status page down to a minimum.

jcook793
Jul 21, 2004, 11:46 AM
the common symptom of all sufferers is, in the words of artists more eloquent than I, that 'the waiting drove me mad...'Always nice to see an old-skool Pearl Jam reference.

xaphonyx
Jul 21, 2004, 12:07 PM
I just ordered a new dual 2.0 g5 with a gig of ram, and the new 20in acd. so i know exactly how you feel, congratulations on your purchase.

BTW Once your family members see your new powerbook, im sure you will be able to convert them all.

GotNoMac
Aug 1, 2004, 03:57 PM
WARNING!

I went thru the same thing when I got my PowerBook 12" last xmas. And now yet again I find my self the same way. Still need to pay for my new G5 that I just bought yesterday. But man I can't wait to open it and start using it. Bought it from someone online, will be paying with escrowse.com service. i like the idea they have seems pretty good. Anyone used it before? Any input will be appreciated and I'll say something after I'm done with this deal.

WARNING!

This web site - escrowse.com - appears to be a rip-off. It appears it is NOT an escrow service at all, but is solely intended to get the buyer's money - and keep it! It is unlikely that any legitimate seller would use this "so called" escrow service. In all likelihood, the people who are supposed to be selling you goods and the people who are responsible for escrowse.com are EXACTLY THE SAME PEOPLE!

If you believe that it is a genuine transaction, write back to the seller and recommend using escrow.com instead - it is a REAL escrow service, and it is recommended by ebay.

Use due diligence in ALL on-line transactions. Research all merchants, sellers or intermediaries BEFORE you send any funds or personal information.

On-line commerce is a great way to get REAL great deals - but you have to use appropriate caution.

Good luck with your on-line purchases!

GotNoMac!

P.S. As my user name might indicate - I've really got no Macs. I only registered on this forum so that I could post a warning about this bogus escrow site. I'm afraid I was too late for iBert, but I hope not.

slughead
Aug 1, 2004, 04:00 PM
WARNING!

This web site - escrowse.com - appears to be a rip-off. It appears it is NOT an escrow service at all, but is solely intended to get the buyer's money - and keep it! It is unlikely that any legitimate seller would use this "so called" escrow service. In all likelihood, the people who are supposed to be selling you goods and the people who are responsible for escrowse.com are EXACTLY THE SAME PEOPLE!

He's right. I read something about this site.

bigred
Aug 4, 2004, 04:15 PM
dude, morisson... I hate to tell you this but I think you've fallen victim to a scam.

http://forums.craigslist.org/?act=Q&ID=17110463
http://forums.ebay.com/db2/thread.jsp?forum=23&thread=410217122&modified=1090574541581

Sorry to drop the bad news on ya.

-b1gr3d

Demon Hunter
Aug 5, 2004, 12:22 AM
Well, Mac user or not, it's good to see someone put for that kind of effort. Hope it all works out...

iNetwork
Aug 5, 2004, 01:42 AM
dude, morisson... I hate to tell you this but I think you've fallen victim to a scam.

http://forums.craigslist.org/?act=Q&ID=17110463
http://forums.ebay.com/db2/thread.jsp?forum=23&thread=410217122&modified=1090574541581

Sorry to drop the bad news on ya.

-b1gr3d

Ibert was the one that orderd thru an escrowse service... not morrison..

complete
Aug 12, 2004, 09:44 PM
hey whats up guys this is my first post. i was gonna buy a g4 powerbook and i ran into escrowse.com, and thought it was kinda fishy, so i searched and foun this site. thanks guys. i filled out the registration but did not complete the transaction. is there any harm that they can do with my info. im pretty sure there is . i need your guys' help for what to do to protect myself????? any help is GREATLY appreciated.