PDA

View Full Version : My iMac shuts off by itself...

renavoo
Aug 3, 2004, 10:36 PM
Hi. I'm rather new to macs so I may be overrreacting but here goes... Within the last couple of weeks, my imac (flat panal 800 mhz g4 768 mb; Panther) has "crashed twice". Meaning, I do something, come back and the computer turned off by itself and I have no idea why. I then keep trying to press the on button and it doesn't work for about a minute and then it turns on. It just happened about 2 hours ago. I know I accidently bumped into the desk prior to this happening but otherwise, I have no idea why this would happen. Does this happen to other people or is this something I should be very worried about? Any ideas what is wrong?
Thank you!
Serena

oldfart
Aug 3, 2004, 11:38 PM
Hi. I'm rather new to macs so I may be overrreacting but here goes... Within the last couple of weeks, my imac (flat panal 800 mhz g4 768 mb; Panther) has "crashed twice". Meaning, I do something, come back and the computer turned off by itself and I have no idea why. I then keep trying to press the on button and it doesn't work for about a minute and then it turns on. It just happened about 2 hours ago. I know I accidently bumped into the desk prior to this happening but otherwise, I have no idea why this would happen. Does this happen to other people or is this something I should be very worried about? Any ideas what is wrong?
Thank you!
Serena

Hmmmmm :rolleyes: ...new to Macs ;) .....WELCOME ABOARD :p

My guess is that you're running on the "Default" settings. :o

Click on the Apple icon in the upper left hand corner of the Finder, scroll down to System Preferences and click on "Energy Saver" ;) !

Check those settings out and change them to whatever works for
you! :rolleyes: