PDA

View Full Version : My iPod won't synch with my Mac, saying it's been disabled for using too much power?




FinalxxDistance
Jan 5, 2010, 04:36 PM
Anyone know how to fix this or what might be causing it? Whenever I connect my iPod (I have a 6th generation Classic) I get this message:

http://i50.tinypic.com/30c3vxt.jpg

I have no idea what might be causing it or how to fix it, can anyone help? :(



NightFox
Jan 5, 2010, 05:19 PM
Anyone know how to fix this or what might be causing it? Whenever I connect my iPod (I have a 6th generation Classic) I get this message:

http://i50.tinypic.com/30c3vxt.jpg

I have no idea what might be causing it or how to fix it, can anyone help? :(

Are you connected to a USB hub? I so, the overall load of all the devices you've got plugged into the hub may be too much for your Mac/PC to supply. Solution is to plug the iPod straight into the computer, or if that's not possible, remove/turn off something else sharing the hub.

Otherwise, have you tried another USB port?

FinalxxDistance
Jan 5, 2010, 05:22 PM
I'm using the USB cable that came with my iPod to connect it to my computer, I don't have any other USB devices connected to my computer though so I don't know what else to do. I have a MacBook Pro so it only has 2 USB ports, I've used both and it won't work with either.

flynz4
Jan 5, 2010, 05:37 PM
I'm using the USB cable that came with my iPod to connect it to my computer, I don't have any other USB devices connected to my computer though so I don't know what else to do. I have a MacBook Pro so it only has 2 USB ports, I've used both and it won't work with either.
Either your computer or your iPod is defective. Debug if further by trying the iPod in a different computer... and see if you can borrow a different iPod (same type) to try in your computer.

/Jim