PDA

View Full Version : Airport Express Compatibility...


noahsnyc
Aug 23, 2004, 03:22 PM
Hello -

Just fishing around trying to find out whether or not AE is going to be compatible with various brand-name multi-use devices.

In other words, has anyone managed to hook an AE up with any of those printer/scanner/copier gizmos?

Specific printers are listed on the Apple site, but I'm really wondering about these "mutant" machines...

Thanks

N.

LeeTom
Aug 23, 2004, 03:32 PM
I highly doubt a multifunction printer that isn't listed on Apple's site would work very well. I could be wrong, but it will definitely be a gamble.

Lee Tom

mkrishnan
Aug 23, 2004, 03:55 PM
FWIW, I tried a Brother MFC-3100 (I think) that my parents have on my AEBS and it did work, despite not being on the list. The scanner shows up too, although I have never tried scanning from it. I don't know if it would do anything or not. But I'd tend to agree with LeeTom not to hold your breath. Especially for getting more than printing out of it.

Although, there are some workarounds -- see this:

http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20030915050404405

noahsnyc
Aug 23, 2004, 04:22 PM
FWIW, I tried a Brother MFC-3100 (I think) that my parents have on my AEBS and it did work, despite not being on the list. The scanner shows up too, although I have never tried scanning from it.
http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20030915050404405

That link looks very promising...

Anyone try that specific hack?

Obviously, if we could get the "thing" to just print it'd be better than nothing.

Any reasons why an Airport Express wouldn't work with the same hack for an Airport Extreme??

Thanks,

N.

mkrishnan
Aug 24, 2004, 03:30 PM
Any reasons why an Airport Express wouldn't work with the same hack for an Airport Extreme??

No, shouldn't be. It uses the same Airport Base Station Admin Utility or whatever its called, doesn't it?