PDA

View Full Version : Jessen.org -> Apple




Wardofsky
Sep 7, 2004, 03:42 AM
I recently found that Jessen.org (http://jessen.org) is hosted on Apple's servers but I've searched everywhere and can't find out why.

I know there's been the previous rumors about iPhone.org (http://www.iphone.org/) but what's Jessen all about.



cb911
Sep 7, 2004, 05:42 AM
hosted on apple's servers? seems like it just re-directs to Apple.com, except that all the sections keep the 'jessen.org' in front of them: http://www.jessen.org/macosx/

there've been some good stories about different domain names registered to apple, but i dont' know about this one.

Abstract
Sep 7, 2004, 05:47 AM
Do these addresses ever pan out to be anything, or do they just remain odd redirections back to Apple's site?

Nermal
Sep 7, 2004, 05:48 AM
Go Mammals! (http://www.mammals.org/) :D

7on
Sep 7, 2004, 07:26 AM
Maybe someone works at apple and is named Jessen? And he didn't have time to make is own website so as a filler he redirects to Apple.com.

Nermal
Sep 8, 2004, 12:37 AM
It's not registered to Apple.

Domain ID:D2591733-LROR
Domain Name:JESSEN.ORG
Created On:17-Nov-1998 05:00:00 UTC
Last Updated On:20-Oct-2003 15:27:09 UTC
Expiration Date:16-Nov-2004 05:00:00 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:R63-LROR
Status:OK
Registrant ID:32093158-NSI
Registrant Name:The Jessen Family
Registrant Organization:The Jessen Family
Registrant Street1:1850 E San Martin Ave
Registrant City:San Martin
Registrant State/Province:CA
Registrant Postal Code:95046
Registrant Country:US

Beware of the rogue ':D' in there :rolleyes:

cb911
Sep 8, 2004, 04:15 AM
he he. weird stuff. imagine seeing a rougue ':D' around the place in a 'whois' like that. :eek: :p :D

the thing is that these aren't re-directions, it's a whole mirror of Apple.com.

just like Jessen, if you go to other pages withing Mammals.org, it keeps mammals.org: http://www.mammals.org/macosx/ see? weird, eh? :confused:

Nermal
Sep 8, 2004, 05:50 AM
mammals.org, unlike jessen.org, is owned by Apple. Bring on the iMammal :rolleyes:

It's not a redirection, but it's not a mirror either. They are just multiple domain names all pointing to the same IP address (or IP block in this case).

Sun Baked
Sep 8, 2004, 06:07 AM
If Microsoft can be mistakenly granted a botanical patent for a newly discovered apple tree dubbed the "Burchinal Red Delicious, then it's likely Apple plans on patenting a new type mammal -- most likely a lab testing rodent with the name Gates something or other.

Wardofsky
Sep 8, 2004, 06:50 AM
If Microsoft can be mistakenly granted a botanical patent for a newly discovered apple tree dubbed the "Burchinal Red Delicious, then it's likely Apple plans on patenting a new type mammal -- most likely a lab testing rodent with the name Gates something or other.

Ha ha!
iGates; not tested on animals, tested on billionaires...

alexf
Sep 8, 2004, 11:40 AM
I recently found that Jessen.org (http://jessen.org) is hosted on Apple's servers but I've searched everywhere and can't find out why.

I know there's been the previous rumors about iPhone.org (http://www.iphone.org/) but what's Jessen all about.

This has nothing to do with Apple. Any of us could go and register any domain and have it "mask" any site we like.