PDA

View Full Version : Site problem!


network23
Sep 24, 2004, 10:53 AM
Is anyone else seeing this, or is it just me?

Recently (last week or so), I've started having problems with the MacRumors site in that the ad will load, and the pageload will stop. It will take 2-4 reloads of the page before I can see anything below the adspace.

Now, some more sinister than I would think it was a cheap way to increase ad hit counts, but I'm sure it's just an html coding error that I wanted to bring to your attention and see if anyone else was having the same problem.

zelmo
Sep 24, 2004, 10:54 AM
I have not had this problem on my Mac at work, at home, or on my laptop.

straphound
Sep 24, 2004, 03:54 PM
The same thing happens to me occasionally. This only seems to happen on my work PC and when using Firefox.

It doesn't seem to happen when using IE on my PC (granted it has been a long time since I used IE for any browsing, Mac or PC) or when using Safari or Firefox on my Mac. :confused:

edesignuk
Sep 24, 2004, 04:02 PM
Same here, Firefox on my PC at work keeps having this problem. Not sure if it's MR or Firefox though.

hcuar
Sep 24, 2004, 05:02 PM
Gah... I thought it was me. It happens to me at work (Windows 2000 / Mozilla 1.7.3) and at home (OS X / Safari).

edesignuk
Sep 24, 2004, 05:03 PM
Gah... I thought it was me. It happens to me at work (Windows 2000 / Mozilla 1.7.3) and at home (OS X / Safari).
The plot thickens...

t300
Sep 24, 2004, 05:49 PM
The plot thickens...

Cue scary Hitchcockian music...

continuum
Sep 24, 2004, 05:53 PM
just happened to me at work with XP and IE about 5 minutes ago.

is that 1000 ravens flying above?

yoda13
Sep 25, 2004, 03:40 PM
I too have had this problem once or twice. Always using Safari on my Mac.

Blue Velvet
Sep 25, 2004, 04:41 PM
Me too. Although it seems to have recently cleared up.

Like some others: Safari 1.2.2 on OS 10.3.4

Thought it was a Safari thing, cleared my cache...

homerjward
Sep 25, 2004, 05:03 PM
never used to happen w/ firefox until i got 1.0 but now it does. in netscape 7.2(my favorite browser behind hypersalamander as it's calling itself now due to the firesomething extension and netscape 4.7 which sadly renders macrumors completely wrong, without java or tables or anything even though i have all plugins...

evil_santa
Sep 25, 2004, 05:55 PM
had the same problem on osx/safari since one of the recent security updates, seems to have gone away now..

PlaceofDis
Sep 25, 2004, 06:46 PM
just happened to me too, in Safari, but i have noticed it in Firefox as well, OS X 10.3.5