PDA

View Full Version : Swap audio track without re-encoding?




Transporteur
Apr 26, 2010, 05:24 PM
Hi there!

Is it possible to change the audio track of a video file without the need of re-encoding it (for example with HandBrake)?

Would save me a lot of time because I accidentally ripped all my King of Queens DVDs with the german track first and english as second.
Now when I'm watching with Plex I have to change the track for each file, which is kind of annoying.

Thanks!



tommylotto
Apr 26, 2010, 06:43 PM
Try Metadata Hootenanny. There is a button that looks like railroad tracks that opens a list of tracks - video, chapter, german, english, etc. From there you can delete the german track, or activate the english track and deactivate the german track. I have not done this but I think it should work.

Billy Boo Bob
Apr 26, 2010, 11:41 PM
If you open them with QT Pro (on Snow Leopard it needs to be QT Player 7, the old style player). You can delete the track you want (Command-J to show tracks) and save it. It will be a .mov container, but it won't re-encode anything. I would think that Plex would play a .mov container, eh?

dynaflash
Apr 26, 2010, 11:44 PM
Subler.