PDA

View Full Version : Need help on picking a good UPS




strausd
Jun 5, 2010, 02:12 AM
First off, I have a budget. It looks like after buying all the main things, I will have somewhere around $200 left. Now I know that people will say "don't cheap out on the UPS" but sorry, I can't spend money I do not have. I have found two UPS's that look pretty good and would like people's opinions on them. If you know of another UPS that is within the same price range that you think works really well, please let me know :)

Here are the two that I am currently looking at:

http://www.amazon.com/APC-BACK-UPS-BR1500LCD-1500VA-System/dp/B000NDA5E0/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1275721271&sr=8-2

http://www.amazon.com/Cyberpower-CP1500AVRLCD-UPS-Display-8-Outlet/dp/B000FBK3QK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1275721271&sr=8-1



nanofrog
Jun 5, 2010, 11:34 AM
Between the two, I'd go for the APC unit (it's the bare minimum you can get away with).

strausd
Jun 5, 2010, 04:14 PM
Does APC have a better warranty?

Apple Corps
Jun 5, 2010, 05:37 PM
This IS the unit http://www.buyupsonline.com/products/apc-smart-ups-1500

It is a refurb but at a much lower cost than brand new.

strausd
Jun 5, 2010, 05:43 PM
That is really close to my price range. However, I am a little skeptical to buy a refurb UPS because I have no idea where it has been and the warranty isn't as good.

wonderspark
Jun 5, 2010, 08:41 PM
I have the exact APC model you listed. I love it.

nanofrog
Jun 5, 2010, 08:43 PM
Does APC have a better warranty?
Both the APC and CyberPower units listed (links) have a 3yr warranty.

That is really close to my price range. However, I am a little skeptical to buy a refurb UPS because I have no idea where it has been and the warranty isn't as good.
It's a SmartUPS, which is a better unit (ideally, an Online type, though some of the newer ones are Line Interactive). Specific model numbers will tell you the difference between them, but it's not listed on the link, so I presume multiple P/N's could be used.

I've bought refurbished systems before, and not had any problems (they can last you 10 yrs or so, as they're built like tanks).

strausd
Jun 5, 2010, 09:45 PM
I have the exact APC model you listed. I love it.

How long have you had yours?

johnnymg
Jun 5, 2010, 09:47 PM
First off, I have a budget. It looks like after buying all the main things, I will have somewhere around $200 left. Now I know that people will say "don't cheap out on the UPS" but sorry, I can't spend money I do not have. I have found two UPS's that look pretty good and would like people's opinions on them. If you know of another UPS that is within the same price range that you think works really well, please let me know :)

Here are the two that I am currently looking at:

http://www.amazon.com/APC-BACK-UPS-BR1500LCD-1500VA-System/dp/B000NDA5E0/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1275721271&sr=8-2

http://www.amazon.com/Cyberpower-CP1500AVRLCD-UPS-Display-8-Outlet/dp/B000FBK3QK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1275721271&sr=8-1

I have used that cyberpower for about 3+ years. Works like a charm~~~~ :D

Loa
Jun 6, 2010, 07:55 AM
Hello,

I've also had the APC unit for about a year, and I'm loving it.

Loa

strausd
Jun 6, 2010, 10:27 AM
2 to 1 so for, looks like I'll be going with the APC

kbonnel
Jun 6, 2010, 11:32 AM
I have the APC model. Had it for almost a year. It has been used a couple of times for small little outages, and a big outage two days ago. I have a 2008 2.8 Octo with 4 drives, 2 24LCD monitors, and a few odds and ends plugged into it, and I had about 13-14 minutes of runtime. Only needed about 7 before the power kicked back in.

love my apc

wonderspark
Jun 6, 2010, 10:28 PM
How long have you had yours?
Since December 2009. I have my 30" ACD, a 22" Dell monitor, the Mac Pro, speaker system and external drive plugged into it. As far as I know, it's only been through a few brown-out / power flickers... no extended outages. I think my Mac is happy to have been protected during those times.

dimme
Jun 7, 2010, 07:28 AM
I have the APC BACK-UPS RS BR1300LCD on my 2008 Macpro and it has worked great for 2+ years. Never had I issue with it being under powered

strausd
Jun 8, 2010, 02:21 AM
Has anyone installed the software it comes with?

Loa
Jun 8, 2010, 06:56 AM
Has anyone installed the software it comes with?

Nah. You don't need it if you're running 10.5 or later (maybe even 10.4, but I'm not sure). Energy Saver preferences will give you decent options to configure your UPS.

Loa

Flash SWT
Jun 9, 2010, 12:17 AM
I also have that APC model, works just fine with the first Mac Pro in my signature.

.

strausd
Jun 9, 2010, 12:22 AM
I also have that APC model, works just fine with the first Mac Pro in my signature.

.

Have you not used it with the 09 MP?

Flash SWT
Jun 9, 2010, 12:25 AM
Have you not used it with the 09 MP?

Unless I'm crazy the 09 MP is the first one in my signature...

The 06 model is currently on an APC Smart-UPS 750 and it does NOT have enough juice to handle a wake from sleep event.

.

steve knight
Jun 9, 2010, 12:30 AM
the apc software is 4 years out of date and fully worthless for osx. it is ok in windows but it never really has been updated but to the extent that it can operate on windows 7. my software started eating up all my resources and I had to uninstall it. but it never gave any options in osx anyway.

strausd
Jun 9, 2010, 12:40 AM
Unless I'm crazy the 09 MP is the first one in my signature...

The 06 model is currently on an APC Smart-UPS 750 and it does NOT have enough juice to handle a wake from sleep event.

.

Sorry, misread that. I guess I'm the crazy one haha