PDA

View Full Version : Wow that's a lot of cache on my PB! Or is it???


obelix
Oct 20, 2004, 11:55 AM
Well I was feeling in a nerdy mood this morning and looked up the model number for my hardrive on my brand new powerbook...

TOSHIBA MK8026GAX
http://www.toshiba-europe.com/storage/Index.asp?page=PFT&nav=ISH_PRS

And found this out...

Buffer size
16,384kByte

Now according to trusty google calculations...
16 384 kilobytes = 16 megabyte

A hardrive with 16mb of cache??? Is that right? Surely they must mean kilobit?
16 384 kilobit = 2 megabyte

I really do hope that it is in fact 16Mb but for some odd reason that just doesn't seem likely.

russed
Oct 20, 2004, 12:27 PM
isnt a byte a bit? or am i talking rubbish? i'm sure it will be 2mg.

on another note have u tried pressign the little silver thing on your battery near to the release thing? i'm sure you will be impressed! i was!

monkeydo_jb
Oct 20, 2004, 12:36 PM
It sure looks like (http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproductdesc.asp?DEPA=0&description=22-149-020&ATT=Hard+Drives+Notebook&CMP=OTC-yah00TT) it's 16MB.

Pretty sweet, if so, and good find.



-jeff

Anonymous Freak
Oct 20, 2004, 12:40 PM
You're right, it's 16MB (MegaBYTE.) That size cache came first to notebook drives, where anything that makes the drive seek less is a good thing. (And it's cheaper/easier than increasing the spindle speed.)

yellow
Oct 20, 2004, 12:49 PM
isnt a byte a bit? or am i talking rubbish? i'm sure it will be 2mg.

A byte is 8 bits.

obelix
Oct 20, 2004, 01:42 PM
WOW!!! I HAVE A 16MB CACHE HD!!! Woooo Hooooo!

That $50 I paid for the upgrade on the Canadian Apple Store was really worth it. Yay Apple!