PDA

View Full Version : Got Our dual 2.5GHz G5 W/ NVIDIA Card


MacBoy88
Oct 20, 2004, 09:40 PM
My School got our new G5 today. It is stocked with 4GB of ram, 2x250GB RAID, and the NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL. I will post benchmarks from it tomorrow. It is super fast tho! BTW we are using it as a video editor.

jsw
Oct 20, 2004, 09:44 PM
Well, it might do OK as a video editor with those specs.... ;)

Hopefully, it'll at least be taxed to do some elaborate video effects!

daveL
Oct 20, 2004, 10:35 PM
I hear you'll be happy when 10.3.6 comes out in the next week or two. It will include updated 6800 drivers which, from what I read, are definitely needed to get the full potential out of the Mac 6800 Ultra. The current 10.3.5 drivers are lacking, especially on the 3D front (shaders and such).

MacBoy88
Oct 21, 2004, 07:09 AM
I hear you'll be happy when 10.3.6 comes out in the next week or two. It will include updated 6800 drivers which, from what I read, are definitely needed to get the full potential out of the Mac 6800 Ultra. The current 10.3.5 drivers are lacking, especially on the 3D front (shaders and such).

I didn't know that! :confused: I thought it played UT 2004 like a champ. :D

daveL
Oct 21, 2004, 10:48 AM
I didn't know that! :confused: I thought it played UT 2004 like a champ. :D
It seems to be hit or miss. Some Apps run well with the current driver, but some (Homeland?) are particularly slow. Anyway, it should be taken care of with 10.3.6, which should be out in a week or two. No worries.

wdlove
Oct 21, 2004, 02:43 PM
My School got our new G5 today. It is stocked with 4GB of ram, 2x250GB RAID, and the NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL. I will post benchmarks from it tomorrow. It is super fast tho! BTW we are using it as a video editor.

Your school only purchased one? :eek:

MacBoy88
Oct 22, 2004, 11:18 AM
Here is the score.......This is a 2.5GHz, SATA 300GB RAID 0, NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL, and 4GB of RAM.

invaLPsion
Oct 22, 2004, 12:12 PM
Cet your CPU speed to "Highest" in sys prefs and you will get an extra 20-30 points...

There is no reason to not have it at "Highest." :cool:

MacBoy88
Oct 22, 2004, 03:48 PM
Cet your CPU speed to "Highest" in sys prefs and you will get an extra 20-30 points...

There is no reason to not have it at "Highest." :cool:

Cool, i didn't know this. Will do on Monday.

Steven1621
Oct 22, 2004, 04:57 PM
my college just got in 30 of the 2.5 G5's as well as the 30 of the new iMacs. it was a beautiful thing to see all the boxes.... :)

AliensAreFuzzy
Oct 22, 2004, 04:59 PM
my college just got in 30 of the 2.5 G5's as well as the 30 of the new iMacs. it was a beautiful thing to see all the boxes.... :)
Holy crap! :eek:
I wish my school were cool enough to get some macs, but we're stuck with some really old windows boxes. :(

mikeyredk
Oct 22, 2004, 05:16 PM
why is the bus speed in the 2.5 up there at 1 ghz?

Bus Frequency 1 GHz

MacBoy88
Oct 23, 2004, 02:56 PM
why is the bus speed in the 2.5 up there at 1 ghz?

Bus Frequency 1 GHz

I see this now that you pointed it out. I will check it out on Monday. It should be 1.25GHz, right?

XIII
Oct 23, 2004, 03:01 PM
Yeah, it should be.

zwida
Oct 26, 2004, 08:26 AM
Here is the score.......This is a 2.5GHz, SATA 300GB RAID 0, NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL, and 4GB of RAM.

I've got Cinebench scores for what seems like an identical machine, if it would be of interest.

cluthz
Oct 26, 2004, 08:39 AM
I see this now that you pointed it out. I will check it out on Monday. It should be 1.25GHz, right?

XBench isn't always reporting things right..
Look in system Profile and see whats listing there..

I remember when i bought a G3/266 back in 1997, Norton Utils reported the machine as 604@537mhz.

Iv'e seen some apps reporting my current powerbook (12" rev C) as Powerbook G3, also as Powerbook 1 GHZ DVI.
So don't put too much worries in what xbench is reporting..