PDA

View Full Version : How to get rid of a "newbie" title...

EMKoper
Oct 24, 2004, 10:57 AM
Is there anyway I can get rid of the "newbie" title by my name without posting some number of times?

Seriously, my impression is that someone with "newbie" attached to their name gets treated a little bit differently on this site. Sometimes it is really direct... like "a newbie trying to sell something here is suspicious" or there is a tone in the responses that is a little more subtle. So what should constitute a real "newbie?"

Anyway, there are probably lots of users like me... I visit the site once or twice every day, read most of the new posts in 4-5 sub-forums, and contribute to the discussion on occasion. I've been doing this for about 2 years, pretty loyally. Seems there should be an "award for good attendance" or something like that ...

Savage Henry
Oct 24, 2004, 11:04 AM
Being round here this long should mean you know what a 'Sticky' means?

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=37092

The link should fill you in.

edesignuk
Oct 24, 2004, 11:06 AM
Newbies don't get treated differently to anyone else. If they post stupid stuff, then they get told so just like anyone else. As for the market place, yes, I myself find a newb trying to sell something on the cheap more suspicious than I would a long term member. Why? Because a newb has nothing to loose by ripping you off, they haven't invested any time in the community getting to know other members, taking part in discussions etc.

Anyway, to the question (which BTW I'd classify under the "stupid newbie questions" :p), read the FAQ! (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=37092) It's a sticky! ;) :D

King Cobra
Oct 24, 2004, 11:32 AM
Seriously, my impression is that someone with "newbie" attached to their name gets treated a little bit differently on this site.
Unlike edesignuk, I treat newbs like s*** compared to everyone else. Take a long look at the first line in my sig. :D