Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bgsnmky

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 22, 2012
I am new to macs...and read somewhere in the forums that some people immediately download or firefox and use that instead of safari.

Just curious if I could get some info on why to use one vs the other?

why do you like one over the other.

Thanks.

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
Personal preference. I prefer safari on my Mac but use chrome on my work pc.

NewishMacGuy

macrumors 6502a
Aug 2, 2007
I think Safari 6 has actually got the best UI experience and speed, but it's lack of cookie-handling and privacy controls make it all but unusable. I end up using Firefox because even with the best Safari extensions, you still can't individually whitelist or blacklist cookies to selectively prevent installation of the ones you don't want while allowing use of the ones that you do. Amateur hour.

---

CrickettGrrrl

macrumors 6502a
Feb 10, 2012
B'more or Less
I think Safari 6 has actually got the best UI experience and speed, but it's lack of cookie-handling and privacy controls make it all but unusable. I end up using Firefox because even with the best Safari extensions, you still can't individually whitelist or blacklist cookies to selectively prevent installation of the ones you don't want while allowing use of the ones that you do. Amateur hour.

---

Have you tried the Ghostery Safari Extension? It manages cookies pretty well, I think. I've been using it for about a year or so. You can whitelist things.

To the OP, I use Safari on my 2011 iMac and like it a lot. (Check out the Extensions Gallery). I used to use Firefox on my PPC iMac, which was great but prefer Safari on the new machine. :)

Last edited:

iHailCarlo

macrumors 6502
Aug 10, 2012
I love Safari, its native to your system and optimized for it. Stick with that you will be alright. :apple:

wcdamsch

macrumors member
Dec 13, 2011