Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 13, 2008, 11:10 AM   #1
supernovastar
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Is this HD compatable with the new Mac Pro?

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=HD-120-WD

Hey, I've just ordered one of the new Mac Pros (2.8Ghz) with the 8800GT, and since I'm having to wait a couple of weeks for delivery I thought I'd order some HDs that I will be needing.

I'm totally new to customizing a Mac Pro so was just wondering if anyone can tell me if this Hard Drive will be compatable?

I'm planning on using it as a back up drive for all my images, so I obviously want to make sure i purchase the correct drive.

Any feedback would be great.

Cheers
supernovastar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2008, 11:13 AM   #2
Nugget
macrumors Demi-God
 
Nugget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Houston Texas USA
Yep. It'll plug in just fine. Enjoy your new machine!

Edit: Do consider using Time Machine for your backing up. It really is a brilliant solution and is better than trying to do your backups "by hand"
__________________
I'm a geek. I have a bunch of Macs. I drank the Kool-Aid. I like cars, airplanes, music, and Unix.
Nugget is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2008, 12:16 PM   #3
Nick T.
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SoCal
The 500GB WD Caviar drives have given me excellent service as data drives in several Windows boxes. They are fast, very quiet, and don't generate an excessive amount of heat.

The 150GB WD Raptor is even faster, just as quiet, and makes an outstanding boot drive.

These drives will slip right into your Mac Pro's drive bays.

Enjoy your new computer!
Nick T. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2008, 12:46 PM   #4
brendon2020
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
what drives do the pro's comes with? WD, Maxtor?
brendon2020 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2008, 01:42 PM   #5
supernovastar
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Thanks very much folks.

I've just ordered the 500GB version to use for Time Machine, and one of the 150GB 10,000RPM to use as a scratch disk for PS.
supernovastar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2008, 03:55 PM   #6
Bass108
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
i've heard oem is iffy
because the firmware sometimes is different plus the warranty is usually nulled...its a big thing to have warranties for your hard drives.

firmware isn't necessarily a big issue but if you say get your drive from IBM and want to put it in your mac it may
Bass108 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this RAM compatible with the new 15" MBP michlc88 MacBook Pro 0 Feb 24, 2011 03:02 PM
Do the old Apple Cinema Displays work with the new Mac Pros davelanger Mac Pro 3 Aug 23, 2010 11:06 PM
Is this what's coming in the next Mac Pro? nylon Mac Pro 1 Mar 8, 2010 06:41 PM
Is this ram compatible with the current iMac's? jmack549 iMac 2 Oct 2, 2008 02:04 PM
Is this HD compatible with my macbook? The iKid Mac Basics and Help 3 Aug 1, 2008 11:45 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC