Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 19, 2010, 01:13 AM   #1
karsten
macrumors 6502a
 
karsten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
osx gpu client?

any idea if/when this might happen for f@h? it'd be pretty cool
karsten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2010, 05:11 PM   #2
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by karsten View Post
any idea if/when this might happen for f@h? it'd be pretty cool
i would love for this to happen, but i haven't heard anything lately
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2010, 05:30 PM   #3
SciFrog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
They need to recode for OpenCL, anywhere from 6 months to several years...
SciFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2010, 01:44 AM   #4
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by SciFrog View Post
They need to recode for OpenCL, anywhere from 6 months to several years...
but have you heard anything of them actually doing it? or plans to do it?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2010, 04:10 PM   #5
karsten
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
karsten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
well i looked around the f@h website a bit, and found instructions for running the windows client through wine on linux. they are here: http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?p=158848#p158848

so i figured i'd try to see if that could happen for osx.

i installed winebottler from http://winebottler.kronenberg.org/,

the os x cuda toolkit from http://developer.nvidia.com/object/c...downloads.html

then the gpu3 folding client from http://www.stanford.edu/~friedrim/.F..._Vista-631.zip

ran the client in wine but i keep getting "Gpu species not recognized." errors from the folding client. i see theres a new version of the client available, i'll try that. thinking either that or the os x nvidia drivers are enough different from the windows ones that the client can't access it properly. this is on a 2009 mp with the gt120 which is fermi i think. tried both fermi and non- in the client but both gave that error. play around with it and see maybe what you all find

EDIT 1: I JUST TRIED THE NEWEST VERSION OF THE CLIENT, 6.40r1 AND IT NOW APPEARS TO DETECT THE GRAPHICS CARD! it sees the gt120 as Gpu type=3 species=20. the client downloads the core then it crashes when it tries to run with Calling '.\FahCore_15.exe -dir work/ -suffix 01 -nice 19 -checkpoint 15 -verbose -lifeline 63 -version 641'

[22:17:18] CoreStatus = C0000135 (-1073741515)
[22:17:18] Client-core communications error: ERROR 0xc0000135
[22:17:18] This is a sign of more serious problems, shutting down.

will continue to try to get this to work

EDIT 2: I missed the part to install some wrappers. going to see if that helps. apparently from http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=16783 someone said gpu2 ran on os x so maybe it's possible

Last edited by karsten; Nov 20, 2010 at 05:05 PM.
karsten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2010, 07:53 PM   #6
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
you can only run gpu3 with nvidia 400 series cards, unless you run the command like this:

Code:
fah -gpu 0 -forcegpu nvidia_g80 -advmethods -verbosity 9 -local
try that with what you did before and see if it works!
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2010, 08:22 PM   #7
karsten
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
karsten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
edit- see post 2 down i cant get log to post

Last edited by karsten; Nov 20, 2010 at 08:34 PM.
karsten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2010, 08:24 PM   #8
karsten
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
karsten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
edit- see next post i cant get the log to post inline here:/

Last edited by karsten; Nov 20, 2010 at 08:34 PM.
karsten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2010, 08:30 PM   #9
karsten
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
karsten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
you can only run gpu3 with nvidia 400 series cards, unless you run the command like this:

Code:
fah -gpu 0 -forcegpu nvidia_g80 -advmethods -verbosity 9 -local
try that with what you did before and see if it works!
holy crap you're a genious it actually started computing now i think, though it errored out right away with an 'unstable machine' error. first time its gotten that far at least. here's the log




it was trying to use core_15 earlier which was probably the issue. i wasn't forcing it with g80. i'm still not sure from those linux instructions what all we need to do on os x with the wine dll wrapper and stuff though. maybe its not actually seeing the card who knows. thanks for the help


looks like it might be an issue with the nvidia cuda driver and 10.6.5? http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=185332
Attached Files
File Type: txt FAHlog.txt (13.2 KB, 16 views)

Last edited by karsten; Nov 20, 2010 at 08:49 PM.
karsten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2010, 06:31 PM   #10
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by karsten View Post
holy crap you're a genious it actually started computing now i think, though it errored out right away with an 'unstable machine' error. first time its gotten that far at least. here's the log




it was trying to use core_15 earlier which was probably the issue. i wasn't forcing it with g80. i'm still not sure from those linux instructions what all we need to do on os x with the wine dll wrapper and stuff though. maybe its not actually seeing the card who knows. thanks for the help


looks like it might be an issue with the nvidia cuda driver and 10.6.5? http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=185332
well hey, it seems you are getting somewhere! yeah if you have a core_15, you gotta delete the everything except the fah app and the dll files, and it will download a new core_11.

don't give up! you might be able to get there!
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free VNC client for OSX to connect to Ubuntu? whitedragon101 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Apr 22, 2014 10:09 PM
Best Microsoft Exchange client application for OSX? mathcolo Mac Applications and Mac App Store 12 Dec 31, 2013 02:13 PM
OSX Mavericks bumps GPU memory! Shockre MacBook Air 11 Jun 12, 2013 02:12 AM
Guild Wars 2 - native OSX client beta available robo456 Mac and PC Games 36 Sep 21, 2012 10:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC